We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay near Hollywood Casino”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay near Hollywood Casino”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel from the moment we walked into the lobby. I had mistakenly booked a non-smoking room but the hotel was extremely accommodating and switched us to a smoking room - same rate. The rooms were very clean and any amenity you forgot the hotel will give to you complimentary. The free breakfast each morning was very good for continental style. We were very fortunate that the hotel staff were friendly and helpful as we wanted to eat breakfast in our room so they gave us a huge carrying tray. I would definitely stay here again. The hotel is very eco-friendly and the walls were pretty thick. We didn't hear a lot of activity in the hallway. The drive to Hollywood Casino is directly across the street - less than 2 minutes. There is also a Applebees and Ihop across from the hotel (you could walk). I've stayed at the Turf Motel and the Holiday Inn Express but would recommend this hotel as it's new and very clean.

Room Tip: We had a king smoking which was very good for a couple. Our friends had a double that came with a mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    142
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
162
314
40
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked a last minute reservation during Hurricane Sandy. Due to our cruise being cancelled, then a last minute trip to Vegas being cancelled, we decided to do SOMETHING for our anniversary. The staff was really nice, offered us free ice cream and drinks in sympathy for our lost vacation plans. The room was amazingly clean. along with the rest of the hotel. It was a great stay! There is also a shuttle to and from the casino, making it a great spot to stay if you want to avoid driving. The rooms were quiet, clean, and staff friendly, we would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a superb Hampton. Exactly what I have come to expect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Having tried other hotels in the area, I make this one my home when visiting friends in Charles Town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JukeJointJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had an awesome experience. My husband works third shift abd got off wirk at eight am we called to see if we could get an early check in and they made sure when we arrived our room was ready. Every staff member the entire weekend was so friendly. The hotel is clean and so nice. My husband and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is well run, clean and newish. The staff were friendly and helpful. We used it as a base for travels to Harpers Ferry and Shepardstown WV. While we are not gamblers this hotel would be great for folks visiting the nearby casino. We got to see our first horse race up close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonpghh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This Hampton Inn is a well run, clean, and cordial hotel. Located very near the Charles Town casino, the hotel offered an excellent location with outstanding customer service. The rates are very reasonable and the included amenities, such as the breakfast, are welcomed. The reception personnel, as well as the breakfast crew, took pride in their work, were thoughtful and courteous, and made every effort to excel.

If you are passing through or playing and staying for the casino and track nearby, I highly recommend considering the Hampton Inn. It was a relaxing stopover on a business trip and not too far off of the main interstates. There are a few eating locations nearby as well and a Sheetz fuel stop for good coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCU61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a weekend at this hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the welcoming staff at the reception desk. Our room was very clean and nicely presented. The bed was was very comfortable with the exception of the pillows being a tad to soft for our taste but they gave us two each so it worked out with combining them! We were there to spend a weekend reunion with friends and loved their spacious and welcoming lobby/dining area. With a group of 11 of us, we were all able to sit comfortably together. We were all able to satisfy our hotel needs with some using the pool, hot tub, exercise room and enjoying the delicious breakfast prepared by very friendly hostesses. A shuttle bus comes every 10 minutes to take you to the casino or returns you to the hotel. We enjoyed the great location and took advantage of its central location to visit Harper's Ferry and the old part of Charles Town which was holding a Heritage Days Festival. We greatly enjoyed the suggestions of Nadine, the front desk clerk who sent us to the Bloomery Distillery Plantation for a limoncello tasting that was out of this world and to Corcoran Winery and Brewery. It is not far to either one and the drives there are beautiful. Nadine was also a wonderful part of their staff greeting us by name in the mornings and assisting in the breakfast room cleaning dishes while exchanging pleasantries. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
244 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
813 reviews
7.8 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Address: 157 Pimlico Dr, Charles Town, WV 25414-4985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Charles Town to visit the Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races or traveling on business, the Hampton Inn and Suites Charles Town is the perfect place to relax during your trip. Convenient to Washington, DC, Baltimore, MD and all the sites of West Virginia, this hotel is the perfect place to stop and stay. In addition to this easy access location, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet access, indoor pool, fitness center and clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing