We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I took a trip through west virginia and decided to check out harpers ferry wv. We found this hotel right outside harpers ferry and paid 115 a night. Normally we try to stay in a hotel less than 100 but decided to stay in a nicer place for a little more. The rooms were clean and very nice. Pool and hot tub were nice also. The best was the breakfast. They had a wide selection of foods which we liked a lot. Over all I would say the Hampton inn was an excellent hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 824 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Attended meetings in Martinsburg. Planned to stay at a Marriott hotel in Hagerstown, MD. Decided to stay at this Hampton Inn as very close and no traffic. What a pleasant surprise. The people here are very friendly. From front desk to breakfast area to cleaning staff. Breakfast was good as fresh and nice variety. Hotel is newer property and room was very comfortable. Only down side was the hot-tub was not working. The casino has a great all-you-can-eat buffet on Tuesday nights. Good evening. Will stay again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the front of hotel overlook the race track. I would suggest a high room on the oppose s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcgolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

New, clean hotel. There is a free shuttle that constantly runs to the casino. We woke up too late for the free breakfast so can't comment on it. Although we did not use it, the pool and hot tub looked nice. Would stay here again if visiting Charles Town.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank squiggyacfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have to tell you we went to check in and Tim behind the counter told me we had the last king but it was near the kitchen so he upgraded us to a suite. It was wonderful. The place is just great. They have a shuttle to the Charlestown Slots every 15 minutes 24 hrs a day. The bed was great as well the breakfast in the am. My only concern is if you can make checkout later than 11 most of is come to track so it is a late night. 12 would be better so you can enjoy your morning. Beyond that everything was awesome.

Room Tip: for an extra 30 dollars ge the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hogan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed one night while visiting Harpers Ferry. Easy to get to from the highway, and being a new property was a nice surprise. Wished for more of a selection of resturants close by, but it seemed that most people there were to gamble at a near by casino. Check in was great and those working there were very friendly. The price was in line with what we normally see with Hampton's so no surprises there. Breakfast is typical as well, but still is very nice. Would go back if we get back to that area.

Room Tip: See if they have any rooms where the tv's are in front of the bed and not off to the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My hubby and I decided to make a spontaneous trip to Charles Town and couldn't get a room in the Inn. We've stayed at the Turf many times and could have gotten a room there, but decided to try the Hampton Inn instead. Booked the room online the day before travel, receiving an AARP discount. We checked in at approximately 2PM with no problem. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating in every respect. We had a problem with the remote control, called the front desk and they sent someone to the room immediately. Turns out the remote has to be held upright, with the top pointing to the ceiling to work properly......at least it does in room 218. After relaxing for a bit, we went down and caught the shuttle to the casino. The shuttle was waiting when we went out the door. The driver was so friendly and told us he only services the Hampton Inn and Holiday Inn so we shouldn't have to wait long either way....turns out he was exactly right. The shuttle service was the best we've ever seen it. After a few hours of entertainment and a meal @ the casino, we stepped outside and waited about 5 minutes for the shuttle for our return ride to the hotel. We were tired and the beds proved to be sooooo comfortable. Everything was sparkling clean, smelled good and we didn't hear a thing all night long, even though our room was located near the elevator. Shower was nice, forceful and hot, like I like it, and the breakfast was very good. I had toasted bagel, boiled eggs and banana and my hubby had the waffle and boiled egg. All were fresh and tasty! They also offered scrambled eggs and some type of breakfast meat along with cereals, both hot and cold and a variety of pastries. We made ourselves coffee to go before leaving. The ladies working in the food area were friendly and helpful and the front desk staff wished us safe travels and invited us to return again real soon. While the room cost $30 more than the ragged ole Turf, it was so worth it. No question, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ettavau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed here a few times. It is a great, new property with a great staff.

The location is convenient for Harpers Ferry and the casino in town.

Every visit has impressed me and it is always clean.

I would have no qualms about staying here on my next visit.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms away from the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank w8n4simplertimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
4.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
1.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
854 reviews
5.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
308 reviews
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town

Address: 157 Pimlico Dr, Charles Town, WV 25414-4985
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range: $131 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether in Charles Town to visit the Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races or traveling on business, the Hampton Inn and Suites Charles Town is the perfect place to relax during your trip. Convenient to Washington, DC, Baltimore, MD and all the sites of West Virginia, this hotel is the perfect place to stop and stay. In addition to this easy access location, enjoy a free, hot breakfast each morning, complimentary internet access, indoor pool, fitness center and clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing