We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, family atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grandma's Diner

Grandma's Diner
Ranked #15 of 58 Restaurants in Charles Town
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Charles Town
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

they have great prices, been around for a long while. It has that feeling of a diner that's been around for a bit. Nice family owned business.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank honey31CharlesTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ummm, so one on the only places in Charles Town proper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived in town and hit the self serve visitors center. The man at the deck couldn't offer a suggestion other than the coffee shop or KFC just outside of town. We did get an iced coffee and then set off to find lunch and then start exploring. This small historic town has a Chinese Buffet, a Bodega, and then we passed by here. Nothing more American than Grandma's diner. We entered and kind of felt obligated to sit since there was no one else here. An old fashioned looking dinner run by a man and his young son who were sitting in a booth and watching golf. The restaurant smelled like a great Grandma's closet and I was going to stick to something fried for safety... We ordered sliders and we quite surprised that they were so good. Fresh soft potato rolls and French fries.
Grandma is a real person and her name is Francesca. She just wasn't there this day.
That is about everything I can share. Not a bad choice among the few options here...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank spracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good home cooked food, and great prices! Breakfast is just the way I like it. Sometimes we just order a whole pie to go!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tomales, rice and black beans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Although I am not supposed to eat this, I had to try it and it was really good authentic hispanic food. Grandma's special hot sauce had the perfect heat for me......other things on the menu looked appealing also

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good price and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I had dinner like a hour ago at Gradma's Dine. The food was good, I got a bowl of chili, very tasty! And the price is very reasonable, If you are looking for simple food with good price, Grandma's Diner is a not bad choice in Charles Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermione C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grandma's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Grandma's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing