We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Carnitas saved this from a 2 star for this Mexican Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Degollado

Mi Degollado
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Carnitas saved this from a 2 star for this Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We decided to try some Mexican food while out in the Charlestown area. Trip Advisor show this as being mixed in terms of the food and service. It's rather sparse for dining and we decided to give it a shot. The margarita was pretty good and we liked the chips and salsa. I ordered the carnitas and my wife opted for a triple plate - chicken soft taco, chalupa, and a burrito. The carnitas were flavorful, but were served with flour tortillas. Wow - never had that experience before at a Mexican restaurant. They also didn't seem to be fried like the should, but at least they tasted okay.

Something was seriously wrong with the chicken dishes that night. Each of the 3 was extremely watery and bland. I couldn't believe how bad the dishes were when all they needed to do was add a little spice and perhaps not cook the chicken so much.

We won't be heading back here for Mexican - I would suggest Taco Bell or something else more authentic for a chicken taco (yes - that's closer to the original and much tastier). The carnitas were pretty good, but not worth trying something else on the menu when they missed so bad on the chicken.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Mexican fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

This is definitely above your average Mexican joint. Do not be afriaid to stray away from the standard Tex-Mex fare. You will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank jakp993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We are talking Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Named for the home of the proprietors in the State of Jalisco, this place serves the food I came to love when wandering Mexico with my grandmother. This is a strip mall gem run by people who put love on your plate and traditional Mexican music in your ears. The menu is eight pages long and lists dishes I haven’t had in 45 years. AI-YI-YI-YI. Given the chance, we will go back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CJW999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average food with below average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food and prices here are average. The service was slow and distracted. The atmosphere is bland and overall I'm not impressed. I will likely not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dagnarus365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is one of my family's favorite places to eat - so much so that the staff recognizes my five year old who has been visiting Mi Degollado since he was born. The food is always delicious and the service is always very good and personable. The place is not very large and can fill to capacity pretty quickly, but the wait time is generally not that long in my experience. The prices are reasonable and the portion size is pretty generous - not to mention the free chips and salsa. If you want to add an item, I recommend the cheese dip for the chips. I highly recommend visiting Mi Degollado if you like mexican food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AttentiveGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Degollado also viewed

 

Been to Mi Degollado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing