We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away and I don't say this often....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Charles Town
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel a year ago and I could just barely handle it even though the owner was very helpful. So when my sister & I were heading to Charles Town this past weekend, I made a reservation to stay again as we were looking for value too. Well unfortunately as soon as we drove into the lot, we just knew we could not stay here. There were old mattresses sitting in the breezeway and the entire property just did not look so good. It had really gone downhill in that year. It's just an old, tired, tired building and there really isn't much more to say. We were lucky to find another great hotel for our stay. I will say that the rooms are pretty neat & clean but again it's just a tired, old building. Sorry Northgate Inn but we won't stay again. Oh wait, there is one positive note - Linda at the front desk was very nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BessieKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Charles Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 52 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

I attend an event every Spring in the area and have stayed here before. It's a total budget motel and I know that. But, this last time was really bad (cigarette burn holes in the blanket, soap the size of Chiclets, walls still roughly patched with drywall compound from a year or two ago....and on and on...)

The clincher of my less that positive review is that someone I know was staying there too and had their car vandalized. The local law enforcement told him that he should avoid this place. OK, good enough advice for me.

Bottom line.....need a cheap room and willing to take a chance? Go for it. Me? I'll never go back.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, please. I don't want to see anyone get hurt or their property defaced.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dfgdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The room was filthy and smelled terrible!!! The curtains where falling off of the curtain rod and when we tried to turn on the ceiling fan it almost fell out of the ceiling and hit my husband in the head. When we requested a refund for the room the the clerk informed us that he does not have to code to issue refunds and that we would have to call the owner on Monday. Everytime we try to get intouch with the owner a Mr. Patel he doesnt seem to be available. We r persuing refund via credit card complany. Will never ever ever think to stay in this hotel. Poor customer service and over all a giant DUMP!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank None L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is a BUDGET hotel, know that going in and you won't be dissapointed. The desk clerk was very nice, one of the best desk clerks I have come across in my travels.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Route 340.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at this Inn for one night. We went out for the evening. Once we came back to the room and turned down the bed cover there were what looked like some kind of clear/beige grease on the bottom sheet and also holes in the very used blanket. The front dest would not give us another room or clean sheets. The toilet also was not bolted to the floor. We layed on top of the bedspread but had a very uncomfortable restless night. The Manager was out the following day so we could not speak to him. Clerks were not helpful or courteous. The Manager would have been the one to be able to do anything for us so the morning clerk told us. Will never go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

Room was clean. motel was quiet. we love staying at northgate inn. We will recommend to all friend. (It was in budget)

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ms_2171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank h0b1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
297 reviews
7.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charles Town

Address: 106 Jefferson Terrace Rd, Charles Town, WV 25414-4327 (Formerly Northgate Inn)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range: $76 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charles Town 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Charles Town: All guest rooms offer free Wi-Fi, micro-fridges are available upon request. This Motel 6 is conveniently located near the Hollywood Casino, Summit Point Motorsports Park, Harper's Ferry National Park, and restaurants & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing