We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad”
Review of Redbook Restaurant

Redbook Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Redbook Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 60 Restaurants in Charles Town
Price range: $45 - $65
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In a league all its own. Using the freshest seasonal and local ingredients, our talented culinary team create a fine dining pre fixe experience!
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Inn and room are really great as well as the grounds. However after we checked out we received our final bill via email and it included an undisclosed 20% tip for drinks at the bar after I had already left at 20% cash tip at the bar. Also, they charged another unannounced $ 6 tip for our breakfast. Needless to say, such charges should have been announced upfront and not after you have left the Inn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank PR1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our property and your room. I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication regarding our gratuities policy. As we mentioned in our email to you on Monday, we immediately refunded the gratuities to your card per your request.

Our gratuity policy is in place as a convenience to our guests. It is not only reviewed with guests during check-in, but it is also outlined on our website under Reservation Policies and in the confirmation letter you received when you booked your reservation online.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We hope you will consider returning in the future!

Respectfully,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Food was ok and the staff was very nice but way to overpriced. The rooms were not up to standard and left a lot to be desired. Dinner at Apple bees was way better.

Thank sueob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I am sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We take pride in creating an artistic and innovative culinary experience, which I understand may be different from what you are used to eating.

Our guest rooms are cared for with the utmost attention to detail, from our luxury linens and custom quilts to the iPads available in every suite. I wish we would have known you were not satisfied with your accommodations while you were here so we could have upgraded you to a different room.

Our staff makes an effort to meet the needs of every guest that stays at Hillbrook, so I am glad you were able to experience our superb hospitality. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback.

Respectfully,
Carissa Zanella
Owner/Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

WOW is an understatement! Every morsel is better than the previous one! There are no menus, so be prepared to be pleasantly surprised. If you really need to know what is being served, you can call the day of your reservation to find out. We were delighted with one of the freshest and quite possibly the best salad we've ever had as our first course. Second course was scallops and thin slices of steak served to perfection. We thought we couldn't eat any more until we were served an unusual presentation of red velvet cake that just had to be tried. Five course meals are offered, but that is quite a bit of food. Reservations are required and it is highly recommended you be on time as the waitress had just a bit of an attitude. She was great once we were seated.

We didn't have a room reservation but were given a private tour of rooms that were not booked. Call the reservation desk for a specialist to help you determine the accommodations that will work best for you. Take a walk around the premises as the grounds are immaculately landscaped. Can't wait to go back and stay the night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 636StephanieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

“WOW is an understatement!,” is a wonderful statement to read! Thank you for your kind words and description of the dining experience at Hillbrook Inn! We have a very talented culinary team to work beside and appreciate all they have brought to the inn! I will talk to the serving staff about arrivals of guests.
I am happy to hear that you were able to tour our Inn as well as the grounds. We look forward to future visits.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Chef's Justin and Jim make unique meals with the freshest ingredients. Definitely recommend eating dinner here if you're staying at the inn. You won't want to miss it!

Thank MD6313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for giving feedback about Chef Justin and Chef Jim! We are blessed to have them as part of our team. Not only because they are fantastic at what they do, but more importantly they are wonderful people to work beside!

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cooked to perfection and served with smashed red potatoes and garden carrots. Breakfast the next morning equally delicious, eggs Benedict and baked strawberries topped with the Inn's signature granola. These two chefs have taken dining at the Hillbrook to the next level, can't wait to return

Thank TruHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your "Hillbrook Culinary Experience". It is deeply appreciated! Chef Justin and Naysa were the culinary team behind those meals and we have to give them credit. They add so much to the Inn and all it has to offer. Thank you for noticing and sharing it with others.

Sincerely,
Carissa Zanella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redbook Restaurant also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to Redbook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing