We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Redbook Restaurant

Redbook Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Charles Town
Price range: $45 - $65
Cuisines: American, European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In a league all its own. Using the freshest seasonal and local ingredients, our talented culinary team create a fine dining pre fixe experience!
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious food”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had breakfast at the Hillbrook: yogurt and granola was the best I've had, and a fantastic omlet, etc..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
The homemade granoloa is one of my personal favorites as well! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed it as well. ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    6
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty... nice size portions...decadent”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Chef Hale did a lovely job for the five course meal we enjoyed. Each portion was sized well... each was tasty...and each complemented the next. Only plus/minus was the creme brulee, which was wonderful, but certainly not for dieters. In the end, though, it's up to the diner to exercise restraint. I didn't. :)

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oriolewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed Chef Hales five-course dinner! I also know what you mean about restraint, it is hard to work with her every day! I don’t have “restraint” either! ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Valentines day”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

My wife and I went with another couple for valentines day and had another great experience. We have been to Hillbrook four times and never been disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cj1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
It is always special to have you at the Inn! It was a beautiful Valentine's Day again this year. Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very special place”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

A bed and breakfast like no other. Food is wonderful, the Inn is cosy and interesting, the grounds are lovely and soothing. Worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank vickywv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We are happy you enjoyed all aspects of Hillbrook Inn & Spa during your visit. Especially the dining with Executive Chef Christine Hale. ~ Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best steak ever!”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Great candlelight dinner, the filet was fantastic. The chef has trained extensively in France and was only cooking for 9 people, what a terrific meal!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillbrook, Owner at Redbook Restaurant, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
I am so happy to you were able to enjoy a quiet and elegant evening at Hillbrook! Christine Hale is amazing on all levels of life and we are happy you got to enjoy her. Sincerely, Carissa Zanella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redbook Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Redbook Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing