We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Staff Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezzaluna Cafe

La Mezzaluna Cafe
Ranked #5 of 58 Restaurants in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone: 304-728-0700
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Staff Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We just finish having lunch and everything was really good. I have eaten in the restaurant probably 50 times since it opened 10 or more years ago and have never been disappointed.
You will not walk away hungry!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    62
    14
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

in a shopping center in Charlestown across from Walmart. It has yummy food and a gentle, Italian mood with Italian options.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I ate here last week, and it was delicious! The complementary garlic knots were fresh out of the oven, and our pasta dishes were huge! Everything had a great taste, and the server was very polite. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian hidden in Charlestown.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While traveling through Charlestown I reluctantly stopped in to Mezzaluna at the recommendation of a shopkeeper. I travel each year extensively throughout Italy, and am passionate about great Italian food and groan at the heavy handed americanized Italian food often found in strip mall restaurants so honestly I expected the worst. The waitress, Stephanie, greeted us warmly and answered the menu questions candidly, no they make none of the many pastas in house ( no fatta in casa), a question that often establishes or lowers my expectations. I probed more....was the Veal in the Parmigiana frozen or freshly breaded in house? She quickly explained it was fresh and the pounded it with a mallet.... hmmmmm I ordered it, and found it excellent, a bit heavy on the mozzarella but one can push that aside. Served with a wonderful salad with a house made herbed vinaigrette, a simply average side of spaghetti the surprise arrived in the form of hot, fresh made fluffy garlic rolls! Let me be clear, you will not dine in this restaurant and fool your palette into thinking your in Italy but accepting one is in the states and Italian food in America has its own character, the food, service and atmosphere are excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mopsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The service was good despite a full house on a Friday night! By 6:00 PM every seat was taken. (That should be a good sign as to the quality of the food.) Waitress good! I had angle hair pasta with meant sauce. HUGE portion and very, very, tasty. It came with a salad made from romaine that had onions, tomatoes, olives, etc. Fresh and crunchy. Six Garlic Knots came as part of the meal. My husband had ricotta cheese filled Tortellini, baked and smothered with sauce and more cheese. He claimed that it was delicious and very filling. Total bill with tax and gratuity was $24.88. (Much less than we paid for a meal at one of their competitors the night before with them having double the portion size. 10 times more flavorful, too.) I have to mention the portion size again. We both had enough left over to box up and eat for the following night dinner. CAFE (sign) is the only indication that the restaurant is in a strip-mall right across from the Walmart strip-mall. Use your GPS. Free parking. Red light to get back out onto the main highway. We would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mezzaluna Cafe also viewed

 
Charles Town, WV
 

Been to La Mezzaluna Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing