We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice sized, clean room right next to the Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Emmaus
Level Contributor
554 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“A nice sized, clean room right next to the Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a non-chain motel with large rooms. It is in a nice area, especially if you want to be next to the Casino (I do not, but at least it was quiet). The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bern666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    16
    4
    14
See reviews for
13
56
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SUITLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I visit this hotel to celebrate my B-day for 2-nights, and I was very surprised by the room size it was huge and very clean. Other than the desk clerk being not as friendly as you would expect her to be. The shower door magnet would not keep the door closed, and the Refrigerator had a leak inside of it that I solved by putting the bathroom trash can in it to catch the leaking water. The Private Balcony and Jaccuzzi was perfect, because we had a non-smoking room, so we just went out on the balcony with the chairs and little table and smoked. Great room for the price I would stay here again with no problem.

Room Tip: If they give you Room-217 make sure you check the shower door to make sure it will close before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRECIOUS0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The staff there was very nice and accommodating, and it's a very short walk to the casino if you cut through their backyard (10 minutes or less). Rooms were very nicely kept as well, and noise was not a problem. For the money, I haven't stayed in a nicer place in Charles Town. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Had a smoking room and for a smoker the smell was overpowering. Clean room, great breakfast, nice restaurant on premises, lounge ok, a little too loud for my taste. Shuttle service to Hollywood casino top notch. Over a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've stayed at the Turf twice this summer when we wanted to be close to the casino...this place is VERY affordable compared to the other hotels nearby. Some of the rooms are pretty quirky, some are very classy....room 227 was our last stay and it was great, very roomy, spacious, modern. The 2 bedroom 'apartments' are really just big rooms with separate bedrooms, but served our purposes for an evening of family gambling....the shuttle is excellent, and we found the staff very nice...just show up at the desk and they call the shuttle for you. Very happy to have found this place.

Room Tip: Room 227 is great - king bed, probably one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the Turf Motel in the old section the Sunday before Memorial Day and it was a nightmare!! The room had a very low ceiling and it felt like you had walked in a cave. It was very outdated and the woman at the desk was not friendly but very rude!!! Don't waste your hard earn money and time at this place. It reminded me of Bates Motel!!!! Also, the free breakfast was a joke. The milk didn't look fresh and the little amount of breakfast was dried up. I couldn't eat or drink anything.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charles Town hotels

DCJim1
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great clean affordable rooms.....wonderful food, a great bar. Walking distince to the track but they also have shuttle service. An old time gem that knows about survice. It's great....I'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
8.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 741 E Washington St, Charles Town, WV 25414-1099 (Formerly Turf Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing