We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old time motel with very nice service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Turf Motel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Old time motel with very nice service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We've stayed at the Turf twice this summer when we wanted to be close to the casino...this place is VERY affordable compared to the other hotels nearby. Some of the rooms are pretty quirky, some are very classy....room 227 was our last stay and it was great, very roomy, spacious, modern. The 2 bedroom 'apartments' are really just big rooms with separate bedrooms, but served our purposes for an evening of family gambling....the shuttle is excellent, and we found the staff very nice...just show up at the desk and they call the shuttle for you. Very happy to have found this place.

Room Tip: Room 227 is great - king bed, probably one of the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    15
    4
    14
See reviews for
13
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the Turf Motel in the old section the Sunday before Memorial Day and it was a nightmare!! The room had a very low ceiling and it felt like you had walked in a cave. It was very outdated and the woman at the desk was not friendly but very rude!!! Don't waste your hard earn money and time at this place. It reminded me of Bates Motel!!!! Also, the free breakfast was a joke. The milk didn't look fresh and the little amount of breakfast was dried up. I couldn't eat or drink anything.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charles Town hotels

DCJim1
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great clean affordable rooms.....wonderful food, a great bar. Walking distince to the track but they also have shuttle service. An old time gem that knows about survice. It's great....I'll be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed the night of 5/24/13. We were very pleased with this hotel. We paid $89.60 including tax for a friday night stay. I think a very good price.The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The beds were comfy as well as clean.The room had a fridge single serve coffee pot and microwave. The motel is close enough to walk to the casino or you can opt to take the shuttle. We waited less than 10 minutes for it to arrive. It was very quiet over night and in the morning too. They have an 11:00 check out time.The only down fall was the shower was very low. Im 5'7 and had to duck to rinse my hair. Not a big deal to me but maybe to a 6ft guy it would be. LOL The free breakfast was good and the seating area was nice. We will stay again with out a doubt.

Room Tip: they have both smoking and non smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This had to be the best Bachelorette Party experience ever! The staff was super friendly and accomodating! There were great memories made here! They catered to us, and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyEast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was VERY pleased with my stay at the Turf Motel. Myself and 7 friends went to Charles Town for a Bachelorette party and we felt like rockstars. The hotel staff were so accomadating, friendly and hiliarous. We had a great time at the Lounge for karoke night, the Rib Room for the complimentary breakfast and dinner and hanging out with Richard, the token golf-cart security. We stayed in a room with 3 pull out couches and a king size bed. I won't lie and say the pull-outs were very comfortable because they were not but the bed was comfortable. The room was spacious and clean, plenty of space for all 8 girls. I highly recommend the Turf Motel and look forward to my next trip. We worked directly with Dwayne to set up our stay. I encourage anyone who wants a cheap, fun stay to stay at the Turf.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at this motel with a bachelorette party last weekend and was blown away by how customer service oriented everyone at this establishment was. From check in to check out, everything we needed or requested was taken care of with no questions asked. The room was clean and fully stocked with towels, clean blankets, etc. The price was unbeatable as was the customer service. The food at the restuarant was out of this world and the hotel bar was a blast. This will now be my go to spot if ever in Charles Town again. Recommed staying here over one of the higher priced hotels in the area. The shuttle from the casino is here every 10-15 minutes. Can't be the quality and price of this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACQUELYN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 5 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Turf Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing