We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Second Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the second time at the Turf Motel. For the money, The Turf is a good choice. The king smoking room is large and roomy with micro-frig, coffee maker, and usual toiletries. 32" regular television, table and desk. Nothing fancy but very clean. My biggest complaint is that the bed mattress is extremely hard, I don't mean firm...it is hard, and I found it to be uncomfortable. Motel is quiet, safe and staff are extremely nice. Breakfast is free, limited buffet style, but very good with enough variety to satisfy everyone. Location to casino is excellent, and across the street from fast food restaurants. Would I stay again, yes I will. Compared to the cost, location and amenities, even with the hard bed, The Turf is still the best value for the money in Charles Town in my opinion!

Room Tip: There is a newer section to the motel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaBobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    18
    6
    14
See reviews for
16
61
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

My sister and I just got home this morning from an overnight trip to casino. We stayed in the Turf motel and loved it! We stayed in the older section attached to the office/restaurant. It was on the 2nd floor. We had a small balcony on the back. The room was a junior suite with 2 double beds. It was very spacious! There would be plenty of room for a family! It had a newer large mini fridge, and a microwave. The bathroom had a regular size tub that had a whirlpool/jacuzzi in it. There was a heat lamp in there too that you could turn on to heat the bathroom. The room was extremely clean! It was a smoking room (we are non-smokers) and there was no odor in room! We were each given a coupon for the (free) breakfast buffet which was great also.. it had eggs, bacon(that was really good), sausage, biscuits,french toast, fresh fruit, cereal , coffee and orange juice.. We had a quick check in and quick check out. If you are going to casino, a quick left out of parking lot and there is the driveway into the casino.. just a second away. I will go back if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterparks4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansdale, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Decent price, good location, clean rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the ribs at the Rib Room for dinner but the buffet breakfast was below average. We stayed in the section of the hotel across the parking lot from the lobby. The rooms are dated and the 'motel smell' was a little overwhelming. Otherwise, it fit the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cordelia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here because staying at the Hotel on the grounds of the Casino was twice as much. The Rooms were dated but clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff friendly. Its a quick walk to the Racetrack.

The Breakfast is typical hotplate fare nothing to write home about.

To be honest this is really a 3.5 star place, a good place for the value and the amount of time you actually spend in the room.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms inside the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McElspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. The rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean. Our room was right under a stairwell, which wasn't the quietest of places, but it served it's purpose. This is a good value when compared to the other hotels that are close to the casino. The shuttle service was great. The free breakfast wasn't spectacular....but it was FREE. The pulled bbq sandwichesat the RIb Room are very tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adharris0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I called the Turf Motel for a quote for a Bachelorette Party I was planning and talked to Mr. Duane Marcus who set us up with a special party room that was big enough to fit our whole party for all our in hotel games and hanging out. We got a second, smaller apartment to accommodate everyone's sleeping arrangements. Both rooms were clean and spacious and exceeded our expectations. The motel was right down the road from the casino and there was a free 24 hour shuttle to take us to and from without trouble

Mr. Marcus also set our party up with welcome cocktails, $10 in chips for the casino and a coupon for a delicious breakfast the next morning. He also arranged a tubing trip with River Riders for us and included that in our room fee to save us time and trouble.

All the staff was very helpful and we will definitely be staying at the Turf for any of our return trips!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We took we thought was a deal on two bedroom apartment. It was musty smelling and while labeled non-smoking, smelled smokey. The curtains were yellowed and needed to be cleaned. The a/c unit was in the living room and there were no vents in the two bedrooms so it got very hot at night. The 2nd room was so small we had to keep our suitcases in the living room. The motel claimed to be sold out and would not move us to another room. Will never make this mistake again. We had a lamp that didn't work and they didn't come to provide a new bulb. The free breakfast was mediocre at best. We were given a room in the older side though but buyer beware!
Good available parking and they do run a shuttle however.

Room Tip: Not sure about the newer side but jdo not accept a room in the bricked building, which is the older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phylz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 741 E Washington Street, Charles Town, WV 25414 (Formerly Turf Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turf Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing