We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“what a joke” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a joke”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

stayed at this place the other night very filthy hotel should be closed and renovated or at the least cleaned would help. Had to get key changed because it would not even work in my door do not recommend would rather stay in car than here again..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Michael B,

I appreciate the fact that you shared a traveler review with us. I apologize for the issues you had with your room key and housekeeping. Since the keys are coded with a magnetic strip, similar to a credit card, they can become demagnetized if kept near a cell phone or other electrical devices. Also, we have recently hired and trained new housekeeping in order to improve our standards. I hope that you give us another opportunity in the future.




Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    8
    9
    53
See reviews for
9
36
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our room smelled like a month old cat box, and after finding the third hair on the sheets, and an unknown liquid on the plastic wrapped box spring, we decided to check get out of there. We were told we would receive no refund as we "had been there almost an hour and everyone would stop just stop in for an hour and freshen up and ask for their money back." The only way one could consider this a place to "freshen up" would be if you spent the day in the bottom of a dumpster. We never closed the door, trying to air the place out and spotted what appeared to be dried blood on the crumbling concrete floor when leaving.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Justin A,

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for not being able to provide you with a memorable experience. We try our best to insure that each of our rooms are properly cleaned. We recently hired and trained new housekeepers so that other guests are not inconvenienced.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charles Town hotels

new smyrna fla
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This place is disgusting,first of all the woman with a cane that was running the office is slow as molasses, she also doesn't have a clue about the internet, they advertise free wifi but ours didn't work at all and she kept spouting off things that she had heard someone else say, anyone should be able to unplug the router to reboot, but according to her the owners were the only ones that could get to the routers. we had a broken window in our room, us painted spots on the walls and the room stunk, the concrete was dirty on all the walkways, our sheets had holes in them and they have a blanket that looksuke it was 10 years old, not knowing the area and looking for a bargain we grabbed the first place we found, would never stay there again at any cost

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angigram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear angigram,

I am concerned about the issues you experienced with us as mentioned in your review. We inspect each room prior to our guests arrival. We have began replacing mattresses and bedding in our rooms. We are also focusing on improving our customer service. We hope that you give us another chance in the future.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here on previous visits to the area and were well pleased with the accommodations. Well on this visit it started out bad, toilet didn't work no shower curtain wires hanging out of the lamp and a bad switch at the sink. My wife was furious and gave them a earful that evening. So the next morning my wife ask to speak with the manager, and the manager agreed with our complaint and arrange to have another room to our liking for us. So management stepped up and did the right thing and I will return here on our next visit. And a big Thank you to the management of this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Rock B,


Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review. Although you were not pleased with your accommodations at first, we were able to change rooms much to your delight! We hope to see you again on future visits to the area!


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel was dirty and dingy. Things were broken in the rooms, check in lady was rude. Bed had brown stains on mattress and a ripped up plastic cover. No hot water at all for showing. We did not want to touch anything.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliems713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear lesliems713,

I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered in March. We are providing training and feedback to our employees in an effort to improve our customer service. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Broken window, dirty beat up door with no security chain, stains running down the wall, bathroom fan hanging down, tres shabby pull out sofa covered with some kind of cheap cover to hide the missing upholstery, room smelled like a combination of garbage and dirty socks, light fixtures over the bed non- functional, loose plates over electrical outlets, socket coming apart in the one of the lamps that did work.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apinkoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear Apinkoski,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us this past Winter. I am deeply concerned about the maintenance issues you experienced with us. Rest assured, we are doing our best to address these concerns so that other guests are not inconvenienced.


Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was clean and certainly on a par for a "budget" level motel room - rate is about 50 to 60% of the going rate in Charles Town - No Complaints - will stay there again when we go back to Charles Town

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjant99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KADLI, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Dear cjant99,

Thank you for sharing an honest review with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us back in March. We take great pride in offering clean rooms at affordable prices. We hope that you stay with us again the next time you return to the area!



Regards,
Shiris-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Charles Town, WV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Charles Town
The Inn at Charles Town
#2 of 6 in Charles Town
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
5.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town
Address: 807 Willow Spring Dr, Charles Town, WV 25414-4440 (Formerly Knights Inn - Charles Town)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn of Charles Town, WV, located in eastern West Virginia. Charles Town is less than five miles from the Virginia and Maryland borders. This town was founded by Charles Washington, brother of George Washington, in 1780. Our hotel is conveniently located near the famous Harpers Ferry National Park where many great events took place, and one of the best local attractions to visit. We are within walking distance of the American Military University, Jefferson County Museum, and Jefferson Memorial Hospital. Improve your handicap by playing a round of golf at Locust Hill Golf Course. Local restaurants include Shu Chen Restaurant, Mediterranean Cafe, and Applebee's Neighborhood Grill.Our pet friendly hotel is the ideal place to stay when visiting historical Charles Town. Wake up and enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily, catch up on current events and local news while enjoying a cup of coffee in our seating area. Take advantage of our laundry facility. The Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races offers free pre-scheduled shuttle service available all day to our guests. Stay connected with wireless high-speed Internet access available in our lobby area and select rooms. A peaceful night awaits you in one of our well equipped guest room with amenities including a coffeemaker, satellite TV with HBO, radio, hairdryer, desk with lamp, table and chairs, and free wake-up service. A microwave and mini-fridge may be available upon request. At Americas Best Value Inn Charles Town, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn - Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Knights Inn Charles Town
Charles Town Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing