We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome option in Charles Town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dish - CLOSED

Dish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A welcome option in Charles Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Charles Town is full of restaurants but very few that are not chains. It's great to have an attractive alternative with locally sourced, nicely prepared food. That said, we did not have a memorable meal. The menu was interesting but the food was just "very good" not exciting or all that interesting. Atmosphere is nice for a relaxed evening. The service was friendly and welcoming. I might go back but I won't hurry back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    63
    26
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not dissapointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

food & atmosphere were just what we needed for the evening, with nice selection of local foods w/ live music to accompany it all

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Local farm food, great new chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The service here is great. I like the simple fact that they use many local farms to get their food from. Justin is new as a chef here but obviously he has experience putting together great menus. From really nice burgers to fancy dishes its all good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went in to see the menu about 4pm and I noticed my favorite bourbon front and center on the back bar. I told the owner that was a good sign. He said if you like that you must try this West Virginia bourbon. He poured some in a glass with a little ice and it was very smooth. We returned later for a very nice dinner. This restaurant was recommended to us by Katlyn Frund, a waitress at the Yellow Brick Bank in Shepherdstown. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapePorpoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never coming here again. Will go to Hardee's first.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Food is okay, not great, considering the high prices. Cleanliness is poor. I saw the Chef picking his nose in my way to the restroom. I am assuming he is the Chef because he was cooking at the time. Gross.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShannonMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing