We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Visit at the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Charles Town
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for just one night after visiting friends in the area. We found the hotel to be very clean, the rooms quiet, and the staff very friendly and helpful. There was a backlog at checkin time while one of the staff was on break, but staff needs breaks too! The bar in the lobby is only open on Friday and Saturday ( we were there on a Sunday) and we had to ask - they should have an open/closed sign maybe? It surely looked open... The breakfast was very good. Loved seeing the horses being warmed up the next morning. We plan to return to enjoy this spot again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for The Inn at Charles Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

We came across this hotel by chance. We wanted to be fairly close to Washington prior to our departure home, but also wanted to visit Harpers Ferry an Historic National Park nearby. The Hotel is very grand-looking. We paid about £80 equivalent for our king bed room with excellent views over the horse racing track at the back (races run Wed thro Sat) and watched the riders practising early the next morning. The room was wonderfully spacious, clean and plush and in the evening we took the free shuttle bus to the Casino, around 2 minutes ride from the hotel. It was a bit like an indoor Blackpool and not really our scene but we managed to get something to eat there. The breakfast was okay, not really enough tables for all the residents though. Apart from that we loved this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This review can be divided into two parts, customer service and the hotel property itself. Let's take the positive first. The hotel is nice and modern. Rooms were clean and relatively spacious with a nice large LCD mounted right on the wall, comfortable bedding, and a more-than-adequate complimentary breakfast.

Unfortunately, first impressions count. The front-desk staff was having all kinds of problems with customers checking in, me included. The sheet that was given to me to sign had a rate much higher than I had reserved for. I had to produce my print-out that showed the correct rate and then it took more time than it should have to rectify the problem. I was not even given an apology and no manger seemed to me on the scene to take charge of what was going on. Caution if staying here...check the rate carefully against what they are having you sign. Too many people were having issues at check in for me to believe this was an isolated issue.

I can say other staff were friendlier during the stay, but again, check-in sets the tone for the entire visit.

When the opening experience and hotel efficiency matches the quality of the property, this will get four stars. Right now, it's three.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dopplersmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

This was our first stay at this hotel, but definitely not our last. From check in to check out the staff was friendly, courteous and professional. The hotel is beautifully decorated with spacious, clean rooms, with wonderful linens and comfortable beds. This hotel is conveniently located on the grounds of Charles Town Races and Slots, and every part of our visit, from the shuttle drivers, to the wait staff at the delicious breakfast buffet, was a pleasure, and it was all ours.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sushi24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have been traveling to CT since the casino first opened. It is only an hour away so the majority of trips have not included hotel stays. As a frequent player, I occasionally get offers for free or discounted rooms. This was perhaps the 4th or 5th overnight stay that I have had at the Inn since its opening several years ago.

The staff are all courteous and friendly. The rooms are well appointed -- large, comfortable and nice amenities. Beds and linens are high quality. The shower is odd - they have long and wide glass doors and you have to reach all the way inside to turn on the shower. Because of its positioning you get blasted with the shower before you are ready to hop in.

For the most part the rooms we have had assigned have been clean and well maintained. On one visit we noticed that the carpets in the hallways were terribly soiled. The Housekeeper explained that guests bring up breakfast trays from the free buffet in the morning and they spill food and beverages on the floor. They have worked hard to try to keep in cleaned and it looks as though some carpet replacement have been made. It is sad that in such a short time that guests have managed to ruin this nice property.

The bathroom amenities are nice and there is a small coffee maker. A free buffet breakfast is served every morning from 6:30-10. The pastries, fruit , hard boiled eggs, yougurt and cereal are nice compliments, but the ready made omelettes and hash leave something to be desired. They would be better off eliminating these latter items from the selections.

There is a shuttle bus that runs every 15 minutes to and from the casino and nearby properties. The drivers are also friendly and accommodating.

The Mountain Diner across the street is open 24/7. We have had lunch and dinner there on occasion and it is usually very good and reasonably price. The breakfast servings are huge and they have wonderful pies and cakes that are very tempting.

There is a fitness room that I have never seen being used.

On weekends, don't expect to check in until around 4 PM. It is fun to get a room on the RT side because you can see the horses being walked in the morning and the races in the early afternoon.

The CT Casino is now called the Hollywood Casino at CT. They have just added gaming tables with minimum bets at $25. Believe it or not, they were not hurting for business. The property will not be in full operation until the Fall of 2010 when they will have more restaurants and entertainment, and hopefully the rest of the casino will get the attention it deserves. The staff there seem to be terribly overworked and understaffed. A lot of the slots were out of commission because they are too busy getting new ones moved in and set up.

My suggestion is to wait until Fall when you can drive around and see the beautiful mountains and foilage and perhaps not be held hostage in the casino. Harper's Ferry and Shepherdstown also are great attractions. Payoffs in the casino are not very good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoBellaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband's job brought us to the Harpers Ferry area for a month and put us up in this hotel. We were very happy with our stay here. Trust me, living out of a hotel with a two year old and a baby isn't easy. But I'm not sure we could have asked for a better place.

The hotel is very busy on the weekends andis pretty dead during the week. I'm sure this is because of the casino. There are a lot of older people and couples...we were one of the few families with kids that I saw during the month there. The staff were always very nice and friendly and made us feel welcome with children. Our daughter got the flu and woke up crying and throwing up in the middle of the night. We let the front desk know in case someone complained and they were nothing but understanding.

The rooms are very nice. Nothing looks cheap...there is a big flat screen television on the wall. We never heard anyone next door or below us. Our neighbor for the month was a co-worker of my husband and said that he didn't hear our kids, either. The beds are very comfy. The bathroom (especially the shower) was very nice. I wish there was a bathtub but we managed to do without.

The breakfast in the morning was wonderful. There was delicious hot food (bacon, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, etc) and tons of pasteries. The women working the breakfast room were always kind and helpful, too.

We didn't ever go into the casino but we loved watching the horses from our hotel window. The shuttles seemed to be taking people to the casino all the time. We did a lot of laundry at the hotel, it was $1.00 per machine. Someone stole my detergent I left down there, so I would recommend not being too trusting.

The hotel is in a nice location...it's about 10 minutes to Harpers Ferry and 1.5 hours to Washington DC. I loved Sheperdstown, WV, which was about 15 minutes away. There were a ton of stores and restauraunts around the hotel.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I doubt we'll ever be in the area again but if we were, we'd stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissamk222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Check in did not give me the room ordered (by the Exec. V.P. of Marketing for the casino - Mr. Tony Coroso). I ordered a smoking room, and they said it was not available. They also said they told him that when he placed the reservation for me (while I was on the phone with him). He did not tell me that. Also, upon checkout the woman did not know what she was doing. She charged me again(they had already charged me the night before) but charged me for double the rate I was told to pay at first. Then she tried to correct it (when I caught the error), and she put the wrong among to credit back to my account. Then she made another transaction to put the additional money back. By this time, she had placed a hold on over $200. and when she tried to run the card again, it would not work. Upon returning home, I was contacted by my bank saying that they put a fraud hold on the account because she tried 14 times today to charge me for my room. It was awful. I will never ever never ever stay their again! Also, the hotel is not connected with the casino, and my mother (who uses a scooter) had a very difficult time moving around (walking) to the room, etc. We were very disappointed in the service, the room, the people, and the breakfast. Don't stay here if you want to have a good time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabrown96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
297 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
833 reviews
8.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Address: 100 Hollywood Dr, Hollywood Casino, Charles Town, WV 25414-1110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range: $100 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Charles Town 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing