We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most unfriendly check in experience EVER!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Charles Town
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most unfriendly check in experience EVER!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2009

I planned to stay at the Inn at Charles Town as a gift to my husband. We have traveled to CharlesTown many times but never stayed at the Inn. I reserved the Exective Suite which was described as 2 rooms with 2 balconies. I carefully read all the information including the presence of any smoking policies and i found nothing. When we arrived, the attendant at the desk acted as if she could care less about us. We checked in only to find out that the suites do not allow any smoking even with the balconies. My husband smokes so this was not satisfactory. When i mentioned to the attendant that is said nothing about no smoking on the website, she snotily said "well it doesn't say you can smoke, does it?". She was most unpleasant and did nothing to try to accomodate us until I asked her to help me locate somewhere else to stay. She was SO rude! We ended up not even staying there since there "was no room in the Inn" and we went down the road to a Quality Inn where they were most pleasant and accomodating and $300 cheaper!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mystictraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    80
    41
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
128
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garnet Valley, Pa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in July. The room was great, overlooking the racetrack. We enjoyed our stay there so much, that we are going back next week for 2 nights. THe hotel and it's employees are the friendliest. We recommended it to some friends, who are going in October.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Inn. The rooms were wonderful, the breakfast was great but most of all, the customer service was superb. My wife left her sandals in our room. We called and Jessica called us back and said she found the sandals and they will be in the mail. We received the sandals today. The Inn at Charles Town has wonderful employees guaranteeing great customer service even after our stay. We can’t wait until our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Our first trip to Charles Town. We decided on the hotel here because they provide transportation to the track for disabled guests. Husband uses an electric scooter and it was a breeze. The continental breakfast is a full breakfast, not just donuts and coffee. The room was large, well appointed and squeaky clean. Lots of thick towels, two large beds and working ac and tv. ( not to be taken for granted when you travel). We thorough enjoyed our brief stay there and will go again. FYI, the restaurant at the track( the one upstairs) has fabulous food!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

The hotel was beautifully furnished in quiet and warm shades of brown and gold. It was elegant and restful.
Our rooms were larger than an average room, with two queen size beds beautifully furnished. The freshness of the furnishings was the most pleasant surprise. Staying in hotels throughout my life, usually one encounters a musty or "other person" or possibly old smoke smell.
these rooms smelled of pure oxygen/clean. The rooms were also unbelievably quiet and the beds were first rate. It was a wonderful, luxurious stay and I would recommend the hotel to any of my friends without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

I stayed here for one night during a trip to play some slots at the casino. This hotel is absolutely beautiful and not that expensive. It is a relatively new hotel, but the staff and personnel know what they are doing and seem very dedicated to the property.

I had a trackside room with a view of the horse racing track. It was a very rainy night, so no races were run. The bathroom is nice with a huge walk-in shower with glass doors. The large king bed I had was very comfortable with 7 pillows (a bit overkill, but nice). There also was a huge (around 52") flat screen television on the wall.

Breakfast was good with honey-cured bacon, cheese omelettes, pancakes, fruit, cereal, yogurts, pastries, and more.

I really liked this place. The only downside is that there is no pool. If you are heading to Charles Town, this is the place to stay. Make sure you book early, because this place fills up fast. I booked 4 weeks in advance and I got one of the last rooms for that night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona Pa
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

The Inn was exceptionally clean , the complimentary breakfast was excellant. The only problem we had was with the front desk. Judie was not very friendly or helpful. She is the only thing we have to complain about. Clean rooms , gorgeous views, etc etc etc
The Inn needs to find more friendly people at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkb1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
18.6 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Property: The Inn at Charles Town
Address: 100 Hollywood Dr, Hollywood Casino, Charles Town, WV 25414-1110
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Charles Town 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing