We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay and a great room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Charles Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Charles Town
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay and a great room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here last week just for one night and it was an excellent experience. We had been traveling for about ten days and this was by far the nicest room we had. It reminded me of a suite on a cruise ship which had a sort of separate sitting area with an additional television there. The service was fine. It is right across the way from a large casino where we had an very nice dinner....there were several restaurants in there...we ate at the steakhouse. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holldoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Holldoll,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are very happy to hear about your stay at the Inn during your 10 day journey. We look forward to exceeding your Red Carpet Cutomer Service needs during your next getaway to Charles Town!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    76
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
32
119
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oriskany, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Best Friend and I stay there about every 3 months . They have THE BEST STAFF EVER , .The Breakfast Buffet is Wonderful,The rooms are ALWAYS Clean and Outstanding,Every visit we have been treated GREAT . The Shuttle Driver's are Wonderful and Very Friendly ,,, Even the Cleaning Staff are always Friendly and Caring, Love the Computers set up for visitor's, Every time we pull into the lot we feel like we are Home ,,, Rooms are very big which is nice and also love the fact that they provide Smoking rooms for us Smoker's.That makes us VERY HAPPY, Next trip planned for July 2014.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Teresa D,

Welcome Home! Thank you for sharing such wonderful feedback with us! We are delighted to hear about your Red Carpet Customer Service encounters during your most recent stay . We look forward to exceeding your expectations during your next planned trip to your home away from home!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The rooms are great - continental free breakfast provided. Love how the shuttle runs from the hotel to the casino. My sister and I could not be happier when we stay there. We are treated like family. Can not say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katzmom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Katzmom12,

You are definitely family when you stay with us at the Inn and it warms our hearts to hear that our staff made you feel at home! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we truly value your feedback. It was wonderful to have you and your sister visit us again. We are glad that the room exceeded your expectations and that you got to enjoy our complimentary breakfast! Thank you for commenting on our shuttle service. The Inn always hopes to make your stay as convenient as possible, and we are pleased to be able to provide that amenity. We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited here on a business trip and was surprised that the hotel wasn't connected to the casino. They have a shuttle that goes back and forth to the casino every 15 minutes. The atmosphere was excellent, similar to a nicer Hampton Inn. The front desk agent was by far the friendliest I have ever seen. The rooms were spacious, clean, and modern. I left before they served breakfast (6 or 6:30) but they offer it at no charge. I'll definitely come back here during my next visit to Charles Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterfallsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Waterfallslover,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are absolutely delighted that we could help make your business trip an exceptional experience. We are glad that you found the staff so friendly and the shuttle convenient. The Inn at Charles Town strives to provide excellent care and Red Carpet customer service to every guest and it is the greatest compliment to have you return. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Warmest regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stay at the Inn several times a year, and are always pleased with the service and cleanliness. On this most recent trip (Apr 1-2), while having breakfast, we were treated to outstanding service by Tonja, a waitress we had never met before. She was attentive and pleasant, and made sure we had everything we needed, including peanut butter for our bagels! While all of the staff at the Inn are always friendly, this is the first time I've felt like writing to commend someone for going above and beyond.

Room Tip: Only wish there were microwaves in the rooms so we could have popcorn or nachos at bedtime!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Kathy T,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are very happy to hear about your stay at the beginning of April. We look forward to exceeding your Red Carpet Cutomer Service needs during your next getaway to the Inn at Charles Town!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My father and I so enjoyed our breakfast...mainly because of Tonja! She is a shining example of what excellent customer service looks like! The breakfast was most enjoyable, but Tonja's willingness to help was so appreciated. She is an asset to your establishment and if you have an Employee of the Year award...she certainly would get our votes! I work in a service oriented business and I am a firm believer that you cannot teach kindness...you either have it or you don't. Tonja has it!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Elisha D,

Thank you for visiting the Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races and staying at the Inn. We are very happy to hear your comments in regards to the breakfast offered and our A-list star, Tonja. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Our Breakfast Attendant, Tonja at the breakfast buffet at the Inn at Charles Town is a top notch employee. During out stay ending on Sunday, March 23, 2014, she made our experience at the breakfast buffet as exceptional experience. She was attentive, pleasant and was there to answer the questions we had. She was truly sincere when she carried out her duties and making a guest of the Inn welcome to the establishment. A very pleasant experience indeed. When I mentioned that I was interested in cooking, she made several suggestions on food presentation and even showed me how to make a strip of bacon look like a rose. Fantastic idea. Management should recognize this exceptional employee and a great asset to the Inn. Veronica F.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Manager at The Inn at Charles Town, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Veronica F,

Thank you for staying with us on March 22 and sharing your feedback. Also, the Star recognition of our Breakfast attendant Tonja. It is very nice to hear of your interests in cooking, and we hope that Tonja's suggestions work well for you. How was the rest of your stay? Did you have an opportunity to eat at any of the other exceptional restaurants on property? Thanks again, and we look for exceeding your expectations with Red Carpet Customer Service soon!

Kindest Regards,

Brett Sullivan | Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
4.6 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
8.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Charles Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Charles Town

Property: The Inn at Charles Town
Address: 100 Hollywood Dr, Hollywood Casino, Charles Town, WV 25414-1110
Location: United States > West Virginia > Charles Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Charles Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Charles Town 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Charles Town features 153 beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites with fantastic views of the backstretch of the Thoroughbred Racing Track. A hot complimentary breakfast buffet is served daily for all hotel guests. A state of the art fitness room is provided along with lavish lobby bar, guest business center and guest laundry facility. Wireless internet access is available for all guest accommodations, lobby, and meeting rooms. The guest accommodations are where the pampering begins. Luxurious bedding, plush terry, granite counters and 42 flat panel televisions are featured in every room and suite. Of course, standard amenities like in room coffee, iron and ironing board and hair dryers are featured in every room. Executive and VIP Suites offer additional features such as refrigerators, pull out sofa beds, vanity make up mirrors, rich and comfortable bathrobes, and upgraded bath amenities. A complimentary shuttle service takes you to the racetrack, casino action and to any of the nine restaurant options at Hollywood Casino at Charles Town Races. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Charles Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Charles Town Hotel Charles Town
Hotel Charles Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing