We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at Charles Town
Nearby Hotels
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hillbrook Inn(Charles Town)
$199
$149
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Charles Town(Charles Town)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$155
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn & Suites(Charles Town)(Great Value!)
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Home2.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$101
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry(Harpers Ferry)(Great Value!)
$112
$97
ClarionHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
121
91
43
10
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
91
43
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace trackhollywood casinoepic buffetbreakfast buffetshuttle runsshuttle servicefree shuttlehotel barmy husband and icomfortable bedsnice roomhour shuttledecent hotelstayed here for one nightfront desk staffenjoyed my staylarge walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 274 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night free with our comps. They upgraded us to a beautiful suite! The room was very clean with nice amenities, including the single cup coffee maker, bath salts and whirlpool tub. Nice view of the horse track from the balcony.We spent the morning drinking coffee and watching the horses. Breakfast was great with scrambled egg and cheese, plain scrambled eggs, boild eggs, cereal, pastries fruit, juice and yogurt. Friendly folks.
As for the casino, we came out a little ahead but the place was dirty. No one was cleaning off the machines.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 914211m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took a little detour on the way home from Greensboro, North Carolina to New York. This is a great short getaway hotel. The hotel itself is comfortable and has good wi-fi and a decent breakfast. Since it is a casino hotel, prices are reasonable for what you get. We had a room facing the thoroughbred racetrack. What a fabulous idea! They race at night, I think year round and six nights a week. In the mornings and throughout the day the horses exercise and workout, maybe a dozen at a time. Really neat to watch. A shuttle runs 24/7 to the Casino, which is a well kept small one with table games. The race track is entered through the Casino. A thoroughly enjoyable (and, in this instance, profitable) stay.

Room Tip: Get a trackside room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been traveling Rte 81 for 14 years and finally decided to take some time to see the scenery. Travelled Skyline Drive from South Point to Luray, went to the Luray Caverns and Car Museum, then travelled 81 to Inn at Charlestown. We had no reservations but the hotel staff was quite helpful and pleasant. Got a trackview king room - everything was clean, comfy and watching the horse the next morning was absolutely divine. The shuttle from the hotel took us to the Casino for dinner
Dinner was great, but the Casino was way to smoking for us. Breakfast at the hote was superior to most help yourself buffets. Would go back there for Harpers Ferry and historical sites again. But never for the Casino.

Room Tip: Get one with a track view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

1. Front Desk: The front desk people are friendly and flexible. We stayed for 6 days. They let me extend the 1100 check out for one hour with no fuss.

2. Wi-Fi: Unlike other motels, the free wi-fi had excellent bandwidth. I was able to watch youtube and MLB games with no buffering interruptions. The Wi Fi was down for maintenance only once.

3. Free Breakfast: It is great- considering it is free. Scrambled eggs of two sorts, sometimes bacon. Delicious yogurt and pastries. The free food frees your money up so you can spend it on gambling and dinner at the casino. However, the breakfast room is often overcrowded. There are lots of corpulent people taking up room and getting multiple plates they do not need. There is a nice patio for sitting outside, but there are lots of bugs, I think, because you are right next to the horses at the track. There is HD TV, unfortunately they play those dopey crybaby morning news shows. How about 2 TVs, one with sports on it? Maybe they don't people to hang around the breakfast room for too long.

4. Kids: Don't bring them. There is nothing for them to do. There is no arcade and you cannot bring them on the gaming floor even just to get to a restaurant.

5. Shuttle is reliable but it gets old. There ought to be a walkway to the casino. There is no way to walk there safely even though the casino cannot be even 1/4 mile away

6. Bathrooms: The toilets go whoosh and flush great. The Inn ignored the Eco Nazis and must have installed Colby-like crappers. The towels are thick and huge and the shower space is terrific. It is enclosed by a see-through glass door which makes you feel less shut in and, shall we say, on display for your room mate.

7. Beds: The bedding is so fluffy and comfy that I would fall asleep lying on it even if I was not tired.

8. Stairs and elevators: A little inconvenient. The stairs are located only all the way down at each end of building. The elevators tend to be a little slow because they are overused.

9. TV: Great quality HD TV, but the sports offerings are lame. There was a great Orioles-Yankee game going on, but the Inn did not provide the broadcast. It offered about 4 sports channels, but there was only tennis, WNBA, soccer and some other lame affair. But this is common to many motels. They mean well, but for some reason don't want to show current baseball games. To be fair, this Inn carried NFL Network, so you could see some good football reruns.

10. Fitness Room: Mediocre, but then you are not going on vacation to work out, are you? There are only 4 machines and it appears the Inn has adjusted these machines so that you won't work out too hard. I can't blame them. They don't want anyone croaking of a heart attack on them. If you want to get some exercise, I suggest you go to the nearby park on Mildred Street. It is only 1 1/2 miles away and it has a wonderful walking path.

11. Area Attractions: To take a brief break from gaming, we went to a great Farmer's Market downtown. They had tasty local fruit, honey, plants, and baked goods. There is also, of course, Harper's Ferry. Downtown Charles Town always seems to have something interesting going on.

12. Housekeeping: Housekeeping ladies are very sweet and reliable. If we left a tag on the door asking for service, we always got it. We left them a nice tip.

Room Tip: If you like using stairs, stay away from the middle rooms. Both sets of stairs are a long way away at both ends.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnmoore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a casino hotel. It is a good price and updated in every area. We came in late and asked for a walk-in rate and they were very accomodating. 11:00 a.m. Checkout gave us time to enjoy the full buffet breakfast. It was a great hotel at a great price with a great attitude.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews