We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An "Adventure"”

Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cass
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
230 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“An "Adventure"”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

With another couple we spent two nights (6/18-19/2013) in one of the former company owned houses in Cass. Took the 2 hour train ride.

First, the accommodations. They are fairly basic. House #224 had 3 bedrooms (plus 2 foldaways), one bath, kitchen, living room, dining room.

Kitchen was decently equipped for four people but could be a problem for a larger group. Microwave, 4-burner electric stove/oven, full size refrigerator/freezer. Dining room table was large, probably comfortably accommodating 6. Living room had 2 sofas, chair, dish TV. Bedrooms (2 w/double beds, 1 with twins) were adequate. Bathroom had a small shower, sink, toilet and separate electric wall heater.

Fortunately, window screens were found in a closet. Windows must be propped open (except screens can be inserted. No A/C but they did have a fan that could be mounted in a window. Night we stayed were cool, no need for a fan. These homes were originally built prior to the 20's (I think indoor baths were added on the 20's) and their age is definitely showing. Lots of wood rot on the sills and outside. Sorely need painting. But, we all agreed that the experience was worth every minute we stayed. Fortunately, we had brought a couple of board games and cards: The ain't nuthin' to do in or around Cass in the evenings!

There is a "motel" across the river over the "66 Restaurant". We think you're better off in one of the houses. Matter of opinion.

Food was a problem. There is a restaurant in the Company Store building: "The Last Run Restaurant". They close PROMPTLY at 5pm! Breakfast is served ONLY between 9:30 and 10:30am. Otherwise it's overpriced and scanty sandwiches and a few burger and chicken baskets. Also pizza which we refused to consider.

The other option is across the river and the "66 Restaurant". Our unanimous opinion: Avoid At All Costs. Probably the worst steak sandwich ever made and the worst "Philly" cheesesteak sandwich ever conceived. The Reuben was awful. The grilled ham and cheese was absolutely tasteless.

During the summer, there are NO decent restaurants open. We know; we drove to Snowshoe hoping to find something. Ended at a Subway that was awful.

If you stay at Cass, bring your own food! The nearest food market is some 10 miles away.

Cass was a lumbering town. The film is a must-see and the diorama is also a must (in the same room). Take the guided tour of the town. In addition, take the self-guided walking tour of the town.
The train ride is excellent. We took the short ride (2 hours). However, we talked to several who had taken the 4 hour trip and were very enthusiastic. Be sure to take the guided your of the lumbering camp when you ride the railroad. The description of the lumbering operation at the camp was really interesting.

The entire Cass experience was interesting and we're glad we did it. But, we feel that Cass needs a decent restaurant that is open more than just 9:30am to 5pm offering more than a mediocre menu. If not that, the alternative would be having a decently equipped food market perhaps with a deli case and offering groceries. The "66 Restaurant" is open more hours and serves breakfast at 8am. One couple had breakfast at the Last Run Restaurant (Company Store). 2 eggs with 1-1/2 pcs. of sausage (described as "chewy"), orange juice, I cup of coffee, sm. bacon biscuit, I chocolate milk: Cost: $14.00. Even though "real butter" was asked for, the server gave us a vegetable oil spread and, when asked about butter again, she said "that's what we have".

There is no cell phone service in the entire area. The company houses have no land lines. There is a pay phone outside the office and at the Company Store. There is no internet service but, we understand that WiFi is available (wasn't offered so we can't comment further).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dutch1638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    76
    20
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“"experience the past, today"”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I drove to Cass, Wv, to ride the Cass Scenic Railroad. Monday is a good traveling day, if you plan to stay in one of the many "company houses", near the train depot. The train does not run on Mondays, but does the rest of the week, usually at noon. It is a 4 1/2 round trip to Bald Knob, with three four stops along the way, two of them, having restrooms. Please bring a jacket, because temperatures at the top of the mountain top trip are "chilly", as much as 15 to 20 degrees cooler. The day we rode, no jacket was needed at the depot, but on Bald Knob, you could see your breath, with every word. The train is a 1945 Shay coal fired locomotive, with both enclosed and open cars. Food and drinks are allowed, whether you buy it there or bring your own.( coolers allowed) No smoking and no alcohol on the trains. Seats were plentiful the day we rode, but could be scarce on a crowded train. Courtesy dictates to those that need to be seated. Lodging is available is restored "logging" houses, dating back to the Leary 1900's, which have been mostly modernized. No cell phone signals and no air conditioning, satellite t.v., microwave, coffee pot, double & twin beds, outdoor grills, and swings on the front porch, are waiting for you there. At nigh, Cass is a step back in time; quiet, crime free, and no traffic. The extremely enjoyable stay, great train ride, allow you to "experience the past, today".

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“All aboard for a great time!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a step back in time! We purchased tickets in the morning for the 12 pm departure for Bald Knob. Very reasonable price of $24 per adult. Boarded the train at 11:30 am for best seat choice. We chose the last train car so that we could take pictures of the engine going around the curves. Seats on this train car were 2 wood benches back to back in the middle which was perfect so that people could get up and freely take pictures along the side rail. There wasn't a restroom on this train car but there was on the 2nd last car. However while the train is moving, nobody can walk from car to car. This wasn't a problem anyway, as you stop in Whittaker for about 20 min and there are restroom facilities there, as well as a concession stand. At the Bald Knob stop which was about 40 min, there are restrooms but no concession stand. The views are spectacular! The staff was great but just wished that the nice man on the microphone would have talked a little slower and clearer, as many of us couldn't understand what he was saying while pointing out points of interest.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank CdaBananaBelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More Than A Train”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sure the train trips are the big draw, but this state park also has a free museum and movie about the history. Even the park has some great trained themed jungle gym equipment for kids. The staff is top notch and I got a free tour of the repair and restoration shops by a staff member with a history degree.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best train views east of the Mississippi!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We visited recently and had a blast! This is a MUST DO for railroad enthusiasts and children. Me, being a railroad enthusiast, enjoyed the trip possibly more than others. My sisters enjoyed the trip up, but on the way down, they didn't enjoy the squealing brakes of the train. I rode in the car next to the engine, the "cinder car", and didn't get that much soot on me. In fact, the fourth car on the way down was smokier than the first on the way up! I really enjoyed the museums and showcase, but in early June, it was at least 90 degrees in the showcase!
Bald knob was beautiful, and with no humidity, you could see for miles!
Little known fact: if you know the right guy, or if it's Danny Seldomridge on the noon train to Bald Knob with shay 6, he might allow you to ride in the cab,either up or down to or from bald knob. He already had people up and down the mountain, but I did catch a ride with him back to the shops, about 0.3 miles from the station.
P.s.- the train to the shops leaves 5-10 minutes after everyone is off the bald knob train, so make a break for the engine.
Will definitely do this again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingmom082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cass Scenic Railroad State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cass Scenic Railroad State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing