We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful. Broken. No water. No help. Awful.”
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful. Broken. No water. No help. Awful.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We came to WV for the wedding of our very close friends. We chose Bear Creek for its location (it was the closest we could find to the ceremony site) and booked months in advance. When I called I was told that the price was $20.00 more per night than the price listed on the website. The weekend would be filled with events for the wedding so I thought, “Fine, it's 15-20 minutes away. That is what matters.”
When we arrived we waited in line to check-in at a food counter where, I am not kidding, I was given a greasy pen to sign the credit card receipt.
Our room smelled slightly of smoke and one of the two dresser drawers was broken but I was too tired to take issue and we went about setting up our room for the big weekend. I still think, “Fine. It will be easy to get to and from events for the weekend. Now, I just want to unpack and be ready for the morning.”
The next morning my husband stepped into the shower only to have the handle fall off in his hand. Neither of us was dressed so he put his dirty clothing back on and went to the food counter to get the problem taken care of. Fifteen minutes later he returned with a woman who rolled her eyes but agreed to move us to a different room. Because we had almost completely unpacked for our three night stay it took several minutes to: get the new key, re-pack and move to the other room. As we were carrying over several hangers of formal attire it became immediately clear that the hanging rack in our new room was broken. My husband went back to the food counter to ask for a clothes rack or some other means by which to hang the easily wrinkled clothing we would be wearing in the next three days. They didn’t have anything and we ended up laying out our suits and dresses over one of the beds so they would be presentable.
In the meantime, we have now missed our lunch appointment with other friends attending the wedding and (due to the telescope satellite in the area) could not call them. So my husband ran out to at least catch them at the restaurant so they didn’t worry and to grab us something to eat. I showered and tried to make our new room a habitable place for the next two days and nights. My husband did not get to shower before we had to be at the rehearsal (we were both in the wedding) but we were still trying to make the best of it since this was a happy occasion.
After the rehearsal we returned to the room so that he could finally shower before we went to the rehearsal dinner. We knew we would be skipping the dance lessons in-between because he had now gone without a shower since the previous morning. In other words, he was desperate to take a shower. Well, no such luck. The Lodge had turned the water off in the all the rooms because someone was attempting to fix the shower in our first room. The man at the food/check-in counter told us it would be 30-45 minutes before the water was back on. Another employee said, “Oh, you were in Room 8?” and snickered as he walked away. So this guy KNEW previously there was a problem with our first room?!? At this point it was not “fine” anymore. It was very NOT FINE.
So we asked to speak to the manager or owner. We were told that the manager and the owner were the same person and that, “She might be in later.”
By the time the water was turned back on, we were 40 minutes late to the rehearsal dinner and, worst of all, could no longer keep from the bride and groom and other friends how awful an experience we were having.
Later that evening we asked two other “employees” two more times if the manager/owner was in and finally got a straight answer, “She travels for work and is not onsite,” but they would try to call her. It was the next evening before, upon asking again, we were offered a $25.00 refund. Perhaps that would fix the problem for someone else but we were insulted. Not only is that a single digit percentage of our total cost, there is nothing that can replace the time we lost in attending, or rather, not attending once-in-a-lifetime wedding events.
It is not often that one can accuse a hotel of practically ruining one’s experience but Bear Creek Lodge came darn close. It is unforgivable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Selena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
21
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions and have always been very pleased. There is no cell phone service in Cass because of Green Bank Observatory dead space, but there is a phone in the hallway. I have always found the rooms clean and the staff friendly and helpful. It is not the Ritz, but neither is the price. It is neat the hear the train coming in and just walking around the town or playing in the River. The food is good and affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseNolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were happy when we walked in, very clean. The only thing was a busted toilet paper holder. No big deal. Then we were getting ready to go ride The Cass Railroad Train, we didn't have any water. Well they must be working on it, and they were. When we came back the water was on. In the morning is when we found out the real problem. We could not get any hot water in the shower. The knob was put on wrong so we could not turn it to make the water hot. NO SHOWER! Other little things: There was a coffee maker and coffee but no sugar or creamer. Suppose to have WiFi but I kept having to go downstairs to tell them the server was down. There is no phone service so
we can't call the store/restuarant/front desk. (there is a phone in the hall but still have to get dressed to use the phone) Also, there was only a couple of employees that were friendly and went out of there way to help us. The amosphere was just not very friendly even in the check-in(there was confusion) or check-out.(there was no empathy) When we told them about the cold shower it was "On My" but no "Sorry" for along time. We thought they might give us breakfast or something but no. This place is not worth the 89.99 we paid even though it is across the street from The Cass Scenic Railroad. Think twice before staying here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyS301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall we were very pleased.
They have amazing food in the store downstairs. Highly recommend the biscuits and gravy! The room was great, clean, and the bathroom was very clean. One downside was the ceiling, its cracking in places but not a big deal. This is a great place at a great price. You can walk to the Cass station from there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blewmeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just recently (Aug.. 5 & 6 )stayed at the Bear Creek Lodge in Cass, W VA. My husband, myself, and our teenage son all thought our room was very nice and I totally loved the decor, our room was very clean, and plenty of towels , cups, coffee, bathroom needs, and a microwave were all furnished, we had NO complaints at all. The people who work at the restaraunt were the nicest people and always said hello with a smile on their face, anything we needed was no problem for them to do , I have no idea why certain people had a problem with the rooms or people maybe their not use to friendly country people, and are use to high class motels, if you want a high class motel with door-men , elevators, parking attendents, etc. then go there but if you want friendly country people in a small country town, with down home cooking (that is soooo good),and a comfortable place to sleep that you can afford, walking distance to Cass Railroad, nice country stores, then this is the place for you. We never had any problem with anyone who was around or in the store or motel , all that was said to us was hello or have a nice day, or see ya later drive careful.... Give this place a try we did and had NO PROBLEMS !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've lodged here on numerous occasions. Most who choose to stay do so because they are on a budget, or they are just cheap all the way around. So for those of you who want to knock this facility maybe you should spend a little more money and go somewhere else. There are a few things that could be improved as anywhere most of us go. But when it comes to affordability of the lodge and the food at the restaurant it can't be beat anywhere in that area. The owner Ms. Minghini has went out of her way to accommodate myself and my children when we have been there. We even bring our staff there on occasions to ride the train and lodge with bear creek. We are always given the best rates when we do. As for the employees for the most part they are just good ol country folk. If your scared of them go back to the city. It takes all kinds to make the world go round. Let's see we used to call people that whinned like some on these posts pickers in the 80's. Thank you bear creek for giving us a place to lay our heads and food in our tummy at an affordable rate. This left me more money once again to do other things I wanted to do in the area.

Room Tip: I like the rooms closest to the ends but not very end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent mountain, VA
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is not a Cracker Barrell. It is a local convenience store with a snack bar and a few rooms available to rent. If you have time, the food here is very, very good. Be prepared to be chatted up by locals. The staff is very nice and accomodating.

We did not stay here, but I wish we had. A very nice couple we met on the Cass Scenic railroad did stay here and they thought it was great. The staff did show us a room. The rooms overlook the Greenbriar River and the Cass Scenic railroad, The rooms do have air conditioning. The company houses at the State park are not air conditioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
5.0 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
74 reviews
13.4 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
57 reviews
5.0 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
110 reviews
5.0 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#2 of 24 in Snowshoe
153 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rimfire Lodge Condos
Rimfire Lodge Condos
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bear Creek Lodge
Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing