We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Overall we were very pleased.
They have amazing food in the store downstairs. Highly recommend the biscuits and gravy! The room was great, clean, and the bathroom was very clean. One downside was the ceiling, its cracking in places but not a big deal. This is a great place at a great price. You can walk to the Cass station from there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blewmeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We just recently (Aug.. 5 & 6 )stayed at the Bear Creek Lodge in Cass, W VA. My husband, myself, and our teenage son all thought our room was very nice and I totally loved the decor, our room was very clean, and plenty of towels , cups, coffee, bathroom needs, and a microwave were all furnished, we had NO complaints at all. The people who work at the restaraunt were the nicest people and always said hello with a smile on their face, anything we needed was no problem for them to do , I have no idea why certain people had a problem with the rooms or people maybe their not use to friendly country people, and are use to high class motels, if you want a high class motel with door-men , elevators, parking attendents, etc. then go there but if you want friendly country people in a small country town, with down home cooking (that is soooo good),and a comfortable place to sleep that you can afford, walking distance to Cass Railroad, nice country stores, then this is the place for you. We never had any problem with anyone who was around or in the store or motel , all that was said to us was hello or have a nice day, or see ya later drive careful.... Give this place a try we did and had NO PROBLEMS !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

I've lodged here on numerous occasions. Most who choose to stay do so because they are on a budget, or they are just cheap all the way around. So for those of you who want to knock this facility maybe you should spend a little more money and go somewhere else. There are a few things that could be improved as anywhere most of us go. But when it comes to affordability of the lodge and the food at the restaurant it can't be beat anywhere in that area. The owner Ms. Minghini has went out of her way to accommodate myself and my children when we have been there. We even bring our staff there on occasions to ride the train and lodge with bear creek. We are always given the best rates when we do. As for the employees for the most part they are just good ol country folk. If your scared of them go back to the city. It takes all kinds to make the world go round. Let's see we used to call people that whinned like some on these posts pickers in the 80's. Thank you bear creek for giving us a place to lay our heads and food in our tummy at an affordable rate. This left me more money once again to do other things I wanted to do in the area.

Room Tip: I like the rooms closest to the ends but not very end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent mountain, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is not a Cracker Barrell. It is a local convenience store with a snack bar and a few rooms available to rent. If you have time, the food here is very, very good. Be prepared to be chatted up by locals. The staff is very nice and accomodating.

We did not stay here, but I wish we had. A very nice couple we met on the Cass Scenic railroad did stay here and they thought it was great. The staff did show us a room. The rooms overlook the Greenbriar River and the Cass Scenic railroad, The rooms do have air conditioning. The company houses at the State park are not air conditioned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I arrived with my Harley riding buddy on a very wet morning. We both ordred omlets from Jenny and WOW, what an omlete it was!

Come to Bear Creek Lodge for breskfast, you'll be as delighted as i was.

I didn't stay, but hope to return one day to do so.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SSgt_Fury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was clean when we arrived,however the bed NEVER got made and we had to ask for towels every day.we watched the locals taking stuff out to their car and we told the girl at the counter and all she said was it happens every weekend!!!!The cooks tried hard and I was okay with the food....owner definitely needs to make improvementas and stop letting people just take what they want and walk out the door.needs someone to work cash register only while the cook does their thing...not both

Room Tip: if you just want closer to the mountain and dont mind a small little place to eat this is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was helping our friends look for a place to stay since they invited us to go with them to Cass WV to ride the locamotive. Well, I found this site looked liked nice and clean rooms and reasonable. Well you know the saying" you get what you pay for" well in this case it is TRUE. Our friends made the reservations ahead of time for 2 nights being told yes the rooms are clean the building is only 6 years old. Well what a surprise we had when we arrived. Cobwebs in corners, bugs on inside of curtain, cobwebs and spiders on outside door, a huge bug on the outside door, hair on the sheets. The outside on the grounds had garbage everywhere. We did stay for one night since it was late and a drive to go somewhere else. We slept with our clothes on and shower in the morning. YUK FEELING. My friend had to fight for a whole day to get back her money for the second night. The employees were very nice about helping her but, when it came to the owner she had her employees lie for her so she didn't have to talk to my friend. Finally when she spoke to my friend was very rude and said "fine I will refund you, your money now get out of my place. Oh yeah instead of a refund they wanted to give us a free night stay, "What were they thinking? Must have thought we were stupid" Well, all said and done can you imagine how if felt? I was the one who found this LOVELY place. NOT. I will never be able to go by what a site shows you or tells you. I feel so terrible. But, the train ride was awesome and the people at the Country Store and Restaurant across the street were great and very nice. Linda, OH.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cass hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
4.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
4.1 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#14 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bear Creek Lodge
Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing