We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go by what the pictures look like....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
West Salem, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't go by what the pictures look like....”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I was helping our friends look for a place to stay since they invited us to go with them to Cass WV to ride the locamotive. Well, I found this site looked liked nice and clean rooms and reasonable. Well you know the saying" you get what you pay for" well in this case it is TRUE. Our friends made the reservations ahead of time for 2 nights being told yes the rooms are clean the building is only 6 years old. Well what a surprise we had when we arrived. Cobwebs in corners, bugs on inside of curtain, cobwebs and spiders on outside door, a huge bug on the outside door, hair on the sheets. The outside on the grounds had garbage everywhere. We did stay for one night since it was late and a drive to go somewhere else. We slept with our clothes on and shower in the morning. YUK FEELING. My friend had to fight for a whole day to get back her money for the second night. The employees were very nice about helping her but, when it came to the owner she had her employees lie for her so she didn't have to talk to my friend. Finally when she spoke to my friend was very rude and said "fine I will refund you, your money now get out of my place. Oh yeah instead of a refund they wanted to give us a free night stay, "What were they thinking? Must have thought we were stupid" Well, all said and done can you imagine how if felt? I was the one who found this LOVELY place. NOT. I will never be able to go by what a site shows you or tells you. I feel so terrible. But, the train ride was awesome and the people at the Country Store and Restaurant across the street were great and very nice. Linda, OH.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

In my 57 years of living this was the worst place i ever came to. Not only were their trash pile every where out side the place looked like it has never seen any form of cleaning. The so call balcany were filthy the sliding glass doors look like slop had been throwed on them. The front door to the hall way was filthy, the mirror in the room was not clean. Talked tto the young man down stairs and ask to speak to the owner and was told she was out of state could not call her. Since we were not staying asked for a refund for the second night and they refused due to the 48 hr cancelation. I was willing to pay for the first night. I would never recommend this place and also i am calling the better business i think this place needs to be shut down and refund customers money back that are dissafied. Lorrine Johnson Bluefield wv

Room Tip: Do not book a room their
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cass hotels

Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you want to slow down, relax and get the feel of country, then Bear Creek Lodge is perfect. The people that work there are great people trying hard to accommodate everyone, the one person behind the counter was trying to check people into the lodge, cook, answer the phone and ring up people trying to buy things at the store, so patience is needed.
The rooms were clean although a little worn, and the walls a little thin, but it was comfortable. There is no cell phone service, but there was basic tv, and internet, although slow, but your not there to watch tv, check out the steam engines and the old logging town across the creek, wade in the creek, take a ride on the stagecoach, or just relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a room there a month and a half ahead of time for trip. when we arrived at lodge and told them we were there to check in the lady looked at us and said will get back to you have to help her cook waited and waited. then this young man came up to us and said there was a problem somehow they had double booked our room. the ladys there wanted him to tell us they were redoing the rooms but he told then that would not be honest. would not reckomend this to anyone. like i said I made reservations a month and a half ahead of time should have been garenteed a room. as they did take all my imformation over phone

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass, WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We are Ohio motorcycle riders looking for an inexpensive home-base to make several days-worth of riding in the mountians. The Bear Creek Lodge (BCL) web site and person I talked to on phone confirmed that the cell phone reciption was non-existant but they had WiFi. Additionally, web site said that each room had satalite TV.
We were planning an early May trip so all the Winter travelers would be out of the way. As it turned out, our two rooms were the only two (out of 8) that were booked for Thrusday and Friday.
We arrived early enough to experienct some good home-cooked pizza from the down-stairs hang-out / front-desk / bar / souvaneir shop / dinning room / cooking area.
When we went to our rooms to get a good nights rest for our first loop of our trip, that's when some things were less than top notch.
The store closes at 8 pm. When the store closes - the folk(s) that run it go home. That's when we went to our rooms and found out our TV recived all the chanels you wanted as long as you wanted to buy something or were on a diet or wanted to join a fitness program. No HBO, local or national chanels could be found and no one to call / contact to get it fixed.
That's OK because we were also promised WiFi. We thought maybe we could watch a movie or get local weather through the PC using the computer I dragged along to check emails from work. It found the WiFi, but every time I tried logging into something the WiFi was dropped. So , disconnected and no one to call to ask a question or to get fixed.
We also found out that the room did not have a phone. There were two land-line phones on the hall way for your local phone calling pleasure. We were ultimately able to use these phones to make a call back to our families using 1-800-COLLECT.
Since the cook / hotel clerk / room service person had gone home for the night, we were stuck with a room that was less than advertised.
The next morning we informed the nice clerk / cook / cleaning lady that we were less than satisfied and that we would be checking out to find other accomodations. She hopped on the phone (a portable one that seemed to be craddled up to her ear most of the time we were there) and called the boss. The boss reminded her and then me, when I wanted to discuss this with her, that the web site clearly indicated that there was a 48 hour cancelation clause and that no refuncds would be forthcomming. With a promise to fix the TV issue, we resind ourselves to staying in the rooms we paid for for the next two nights but cancelled the Sunday night we had reserved (we could because it was 48 hours ahead).

Room Tip: Don't plan on Hilton-like accomodations. And plan on living without (cell phone / computer hook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expressmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Cleannes of the room is great. Location, however is far from the Snowshoe Resort especially when the road is covered with snow. However it has good view. This place has ski n snowboard rental, market n lodge in one. One thing that i really dont like about is that u have VERY limited channel.... mostly shopping channel n you have to pay to watch any other channels. I would only cone back here if any other inn or hotel nearby the Snowahoe is full.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asianddud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory Flats WV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here and rode steam train to top of Bald knob, rooms were clean, cozy , and spacious. Restaurant below was a plus for dinner and breakfast. If your into outdoor adventures this place is a excellent loacation for skiing, hiking, steam train rides, fishing, canoeing, and escaping cell phones / internet... its a great place to enjoy Wild Wonderful West Virginia with comfort in a back woods setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
5.2 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
73 reviews
13.4 mi away
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
Marlinton Motor Inn Motel
#1 of 1 in Marlinton
52 reviews
5.4 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
59 reviews
5.2 mi away
Allegheny Springs
Allegheny Springs
#4 of 24 in Snowshoe
149 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bear Creek Lodge
Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing