We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice wonderful location and good restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bear Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cass
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Grove City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice wonderful location and good restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We are a group of 4 older women and rented 2 rooms for a night at this lodge. The staff was exceptional and friendly, even divided the bill 4 ways so we could each pay our share. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was also clean and had very good food for dinner and breakfast. It is across the river from the Cass Scenic Railroad which was the reason for our trip. The railroad is so close you can just walk across the bridge over the Greenbriar River and enjoy the shops there. The balcony on the motel was nice to sit on in the evening and enjoy the view of the river and mountains. We would stay here again. We felt perfectly safe and noticed several couples also enjoying this motel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
19
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copley, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Great location for the Cass RR trip, that is why we stayed here. This time the room was dirty, pillows stained, blankets had hair on them, and plumbing was questionable. We had reservations and no one knew where the key for the room was. I finally found it in the room because the door was unlocked. The restaurant is good, but the morning staff had attitude. I wanted decaf coffee and she threw a packet at me, but she finally made it. When I went back for refills a customer told me she mixed regular in with the decaf. Another couple I talked to said they would never stay there again. No wifi or cell phone service because it is in a radio free area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buchtel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekWV, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
We at 66 would like to apologize for your unhappy visit at our Cass, wv location. We have since updated, renovated, and hired responsible friendly staff to ensure a happy friendly environment. We do have wifi installed at this location now, and still since the area is so close to the Observatory, no cell service is available. We do offer a phone to make long distance calls at no charge for your convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cass hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

This place is not what you expect if you found it on the Internet! Rooms are in poor shape and no telephone in the room...your in the mountains so cell phone coverage is poor. This place is cheaper than stayin on top of mountain, but you will feel more safe spending the extra money. Four guys in our mid 20s( we usually don't care wherever stay), but even we were sketched out about staying in this place. I would not recommend any families( especially if you have young children) to pick this destination. The vibe is just not good.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unc765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We thought this place was great. Not fancy but clean and comfortable. Spacious rooms with nice bath. Microwave and mini-fridge a plus. Breakfast at the store below was fresh cooked and delicious even if eaten off paper plates. The homemade bisquits were wonderful. If you are adventurous and not fussy you will love this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinesOutAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekWV, Guest Relations Manager at Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Thank you for your review and patronage. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We had reservations luckily. I drove past it once as I thought it was a 7-11. the rooms are above a general store and it did not look like a motel at all. Nevertheless, the room had 2 beds, a nice size and quaint decor. We stayed 2 nights and did not have our beds made the second morning. I asked for and received extra towels. Guests are entitled to one bag of ice per night, you just have to ask for it. The bedspreads were a bit ratty looking, but I think the place was reasonably clean and the cost in the off season was reasonable. No phones in the room, one in the hall, but it is a pay phone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

I went with a few friends. We were wanting to stay somewhere quaint and personal, and this place did the trick. Granted, it's not a 5 star lodge, but the people are very friendly. Breakfast wasn't bad, either. Thanks for the experience!

Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetcarolinagirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

My husband and I like to drive all over and we just heard that Snowshoe sky ressort was a place worth to visit so we decided to drive to West Virgina and go to Snowshoe. The weather was bad, there was a heavy fog and going up to the mountain was a nightmare. It was also rainy so we need a place to stay and the only [lace available was at Bear creek lodge. We got there and it was closed but a woman was waiting for us and gave us the last room available. It was around 11 o clock at night and we were gratefull to have a place to stay. However the room door did not close it has a locker, but anybody could push the door and open it very easily. My husband felt sleep right away, but I couldn't thinking that some one is going to open that door. I put a chair behind the door, but still I did not feel safe, I try to watch TV the cable did not work, Try turn on the heat, it did not work either. The curtain on the back door was broke and the plce did not look so clean either. In the morning we were happy to see that we were OK and also we enjoy the scenic view. Around the lodge there is a lot of garbage and there were no place to find some water or ice inside the lodge. The place would be OK if we only pay $40 or $60, but not for $150 dollars , The true was that we did not find a lot of choice at that hourr, but we felt that the owners of the lodge take advantage of that and over charged us for the room.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cass
4.5 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#1 of 1 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cass Scenic Railroad State Park
4.1 mi away
Soaring Eagle Lodge
Soaring Eagle Lodge
#1 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Expedition Station
Expedition Station
#3 of 24 in Snowshoe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mountain Lodge Condos
Mountain Lodge Condos
#14 of 24 in Snowshoe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.8 mi away
Inn at Snowshoe
Inn at Snowshoe
#3 of 3 in Snowshoe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bear Creek Lodge
Address: Route 66, Cass, WV 24927
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cass
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Hotel Cass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing