We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite WV State Park..!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
North Bend State Park Lodge
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We just spent a Saturday night with the $99 special,includes dinner that evening of arrival and breakfast in the morning..You can order anything on the menu. Both were simply great. The beds are fine, but the bed-spreads are heavy-weight & if you need another blanket, you gotta use it. Heating A/C unit is tough to regulate..When not blowing warm air on a cold night , it blows out plain cool air, except it is indeed cool and you feel the breeze as if you have the window open. I don't like golf,or winter sports. Since I am a big fan of football,basketball,baseball, so I don't have to bump into couples with golf bags, or ski equipment here and there..I can sit by the big wood fire and watch TV Sports. Management and staff are great! Christmas holiday season is wonderful, especially when they did put up a real live tree from the park in the lobby.. and deer we have seen coming up and looking into the windows at us during a snow fall. I asked,"are they trained to do that for customer fun?" Spring, Summer and Fall are also wonderful times here. It is kinda small and personal actually, I think that is why I have always liked this WV State Park best..!

Room Tip: Ask for the type of room that you want. The special "winter"rates especially during the Ch...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohnRobert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for North Bend State Park Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 43 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently spent a fall weekend at the lodge. Our room, 208, was the largest one available and was more of a studio suite with a small frig. The room was clean and comfortable, and having the frig allowed us to bring lunch supplies and snacks. I don't think many of the other rooms include a refrigerator. We had three large windows that provided a view of the trees and a bit of the valley below--just lovely. FYI: the bathroom had a hair dryer, but there was not an iron available. We had dinner at the lodge dining room, which we enjoyed. It's a good-sized glass-enclosed space that also allows you to enjoy the views. The food, while simple, was tasty and easy on the budget. We did not experience the same issues that the previous poster did. Everything was clean, and our food was fine. The service was a bit laid back, but so were we. Keep in mind that the lodge is not particularly close to any other restaurants or entertainment. You'll be driving over some twisty country roads to get anywhere. Since we were primarily there to hike and enjoy our natural surroundings, that was perfect for us. Many of the guests used the gathering room near the dining room; it has a lovely large fireplace, several tables for puzzles and games, and a television. If you like to hike, you can access most of the trails from those near the lodge--and most of them were quite nice. We particularly enjoyed the Overhanging Rock Trail and the Overlook Trail, but all offered beautiful fall scenery. For the most part they were well-marked and well-maintained. We would have liked to see a few more signs indicating trail access points, but we always managed to find them. We also walked about 2 miles west on the Rail/Trail, but found it disappointing. Perhaps the other direction would have offered better scenery. Based on this stay, we're definitely going to try some of the other lodges in WV.

Room Tip: See if 208 is available--or one of the other suite options. I'd also ask for the 2nd floor. Th...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The rooms were clean but could be updated. The beds were pretty uncomfortable. The views from the rooms are nice and lobby area is very pretty. The restaurant has always been so-so but we had a pretty bad dinner this time - the chicken pot pie we ordered had nothing in it but a few peas and a lot of cream sauce, a sirloin ordered was not cooked long enough, and the glasses on the table for water were dirty and were the same ones that had sat out at breakfast. They were nice enough to not charge us or charge us half price for the unsatisfying meals but I would not trust eating there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel248957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We originally went to experience the nice rail trail. We covered 45 miles of bike trail in 3 days and 4 tunnels. What a surprise when we found out we could stay at the park in the North Bend Lodge and eat at the restaurant. The food was good, the service was great and yes we will go back another time for more fun. There is so much to do at this park, that we ran out of time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed using one of the package deals they offer. SO glad we did. For those who love outdoors this is the place for you. Hiking, fishing, swimming, tennis not to mention you can also visit Blennerhassett island near by.

Room Tip: Choose a package
  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevtra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

What a delightful surprise to stay in this West Virginia State Park Lodge. The staff is outstanding!! The lodge room was clean, spacious and had a great view into the forest. We booked a package that included our room and the Blennerhasseet Island tour package. The $99.00 price for two people, is an unbelieveable bargin. We ate our meals in the lodge dining room. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious and well priced. We happened to be there on a Wednesday evening and had the opportunity to be treated to The Wednesday Evening Boys-a group of men that get together to play bluegrass music, just because they enjoy "pickin" together. There is nothing negative that can be said about our time at North Bend State Park Lodge-not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

My 4 friends & I stayed there this past weekend to see the mystery theater. It was by far the best one we've ever attended! It started with the time we 1st arrived till we left Sunday morning. Our room was complet;y ready when we got there, the attendant at the desk was so helptul, when we came down to dinner, the people even held the door for me to get my wheelchair/scooter into the dinning room. the food was wonderful, it was so nice to have the desserts at intermission which was a perfect time, at intermission. the theater was the best! The girls sang so great & Auntie Momma really "outdone" herself this time! LOL! The breakfast food was delicious & a great variety, it just needed to be hot, but all in all EVERYTHING was super!
Thanks for everything & your hospitality was supurb! Can't wait for next year! Sure wish tou had something we could attend in the fall too.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Parkersburg
Red Roof Inn Parkersburg
#6 of 11 in Parkersburg
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blennerhassett Hotel
The Blennerhassett Hotel
#2 of 11 in Parkersburg
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Country Road Cabins
0.0 mi away
Tygart Lake State Park
Tygart Lake State Park
#1 of 1 in Grafton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bend State Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bend State Park Lodge

Address: 202 North Bend Park Road, Cairo, WV 26337-6744
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: $68 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Bend State Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Bend State Park Lodge is a mountain lodge located in North Bend State Park. The lodge features solid oak furnishings, a relaxing sitting room with a large stone fireplace and conference and meeting rooms. Visitors who dine in the glass-enclosed restaurant will delight to a robust menu, while enjoying the view of surrounding pristine rolling hills and wildlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Bend State Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bend State Park Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing