We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family weekend getaway!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun family weekend getaway!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My family rented a log cabin along side my brother-in-law and his family. It was a very fun weekend. The cabins were clean and spacious. The pool was nice and the river within a short walk. The kids especially enjoyed the trout fishing. The owner coached us through the best tactics to landing some beauties! She then filleted the fish, gave us cooking tips, and we had them on the grill that night. Resort is very convenient to area attractions.

Room Tip: If you have kids, get a cabin near the pool. If you want quiet, get a cabin near the conference cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    86
    46
    19
    23
See reviews for
113
178
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kearneysville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I rode down the Blue Ridge and into West Virginia with a group of friends. We spent two nights at the Smoke Hole Resort during the trip. I was blown away with how great the facility and the staff are . . . very welcoming people who would go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. You can arrange group dinners, there, and we took advantage of that, both evenings. The food was great . . . much better than we'd have gotten anywhere nearby! Everything was cooked and seasoned to perfection and the veggies were all very fresh. Most were grown in their garden! You can't go wrong, and the added bonus is the spectacular natural beauty that surrounds you, while staying there!

Room Tip: There are no bad cabins! Plan on fishing for some Golden Trout in their pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanham, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2014

One of the best times we had on a getaway... Relaxing atmosphere, beautiful location and perfect for a mountain getaway. The resort is well maintained. The staff was great, the owner was even more wonderful. The resort also provides information on a number of outdoor activities to enjoy. We had a great time and plan to visit again. If your looking for a Marriot experience this place is not for you. The cabins are "cabinest" with a bit of a modern touch. Great for a mountain experience. We vote the Smoke Hole Resort one of the best in West Virginia.

Room Tip: Request housing on the main property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mistermanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

A group of 32 motorcyclist stayed at the cottages over a 4 day period. The staff at Smoke Hole were great and attentive to our needs. The first nights dinner was catered by their staff and the food was great. I'd highly recommend this resort..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Five motorcycle buddies and I booked into the Smoke Hole Caverns and Cabin Resort for a weekend of riding West Virginia's back roads. The positives were excellent weather and great motorcycle riding roads.

Two of our guys shared a motel room, and five of us were booked into the "A" Frame, which we learned is designed for a family with kids. There is only one bathroom, two bedrooms with queen-sized beds, and a loft for little people. Unfortunately, we had five large adults. One slept on the couch, because the loft beds were too small for him. We found crackers under the couch cushions from a previous guest. Two took the bedrooms, and two six-foot guys slept in the loft where both banged their heads on the ceiling.

There is no cell phone service in the area, and the "Resort" has no public WiFi service. As a result, we had to drive a few miles away to call our families or check email messages.

Not all of the electric outlets in the "A" Frame worked, so we had to take turns charging our phones and gear.

There is no place to eat at the Resort, and the restaurant they recommended, Something Dave's, was terrible. The food was at least two notches below "steam table" quality. When we told the waitress that the "see through" coffee was too weak, she snipped, "That's the way we like it down here."

The best meal we had was one we cooked at the "A" Frame. Clean-up was manual, since there's no dishwasher in the place.


My recommendation is :Avoid this place.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickDBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Visited the Smoke Hole caverns again. Love the mountains. Hotel was right in line with the atmosphere there. Great gift shop.Room was clean and pretty quiet. Plenty of towels and great communication with reservations. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurTiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

While in this area I seen an ad stating Smoke Hole Caverns has the largest gift shop in WV. I thought this could be interest lets check this out. What a waste of time! I was dissappointed that this place being run by people that use to or currently work for Cabelas would be this way. The type of people that are coming down to this area to CAMP, HIKE, ROCK CLIMB, ETC... not to buy fancy country decor. I expected to see more books about the area, maybe last minute camping and hiking gear. I understand you have to sell the trademark tourist items but I think more items that would be geared towards the reasons people visit the area would be nice. The book section was a joke. I'm just making friendly suggestion. I still will never understand why you sell pizza and not BBQ maybe a smoke house theme to go with the smoke hole cavern.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank ashtray85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.5 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
16.6 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
52 reviews
17.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
13.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
77 reviews
22.2 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Property: Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Address: 8290 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing