We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just stayed at Smoke Hole Caverns and Log Cabin Resort. We stayed in the Log Cabin Hotel for this trip. The price was very reasonable, and despite some of the other reviews, the rooms were great. The people there were so incredibly friendly and made our stay even more enjoyable. The location is also perfect, close to so many activities: Spruce Knob, Seneca Rocks, Blackwater Falls, Dolly Sods and more. Love the new gift shop, too! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkieM30242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 439 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at the Smoke Hole Hotel. Friendly service, the gift shop is awesome!!! The rooms were clean but mediocre, in need of a major renovation. Old, peeling wallpaper and décor. You could hear the water running through the pipes with anyone staying at the hotel who was running water. The toilet didn't flush very well. The bathtub wouldn't hardly drain. Very noisy, with the gift shop, check-in being right beside the hotel. They roll the sidewalks up between 5-7:00 PM. There is not a lot of places to go to eat. For the money, the rooms were not worth it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I had a very good time at your cabin and cavern. The cabin was very nice and clean and had all the amenities we needed, except for a radio. There were a few bugs flying around, but that's to be expected when so close to a creek and river. In fact, the babbling creek behind cabin 22 made for great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed August 3-5 at the honeymoon cabins.This is a beautiful place, gorgeous scenery and nicely landscaped. They have a nice pool, stream behind the cabin, river, and trout pond with a water fountain. The place only has a few cabins so it was nice for a couples get away, not crowded at all, and very quiet. We did have internet connection and cell service though slow, and sporadic, but as expected for a remote location. Make sure you take food with you as there are no restaurants within 5 miles and the next town only offers fast food. Cabins could use some updating, but had a hot tub and wood burning fireplace. The cabins were very clean and we were given clean towels, and coffee each day and the staff is very friendly. ( Like a hotel)

Room Tip: Make sure you bring food, not many restaurants close by and the next town only has fast food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequentraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is greatly over priced. The room, while clean is completely out dated in decorations. The motel is not very old either. The wall paper was peeling off the wall, the carpet looked like it needed replaced. There is no mini fridge, microwave or coffee pot. For over $100 a night, I would expect that. Stay down the road at hotel in front of Senca Rocks. Half the price and much better room.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked the same, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed August 3-5 so as I write this I am sitting making a pot of coffee. We originally were going to stay in motel but when we arrived there were no rooms ready, so we inquired about the cabins. It was the best extra money we spent!!! My boys 18 & 13 had so much more to do, swimming, fishing , walking around. We have family down the road so we did not think we would use the kitchen as much as we did . Shopped at shop n save in town, prices are very very fair. We bought a very nice size London broil that fed us all for $7.00. The rocking chairs on the porch are perfect!!! Grounds are super clean!!! Everything was usable, I use to have a time share & ended up having to bring my own pots & pans because they were so cheap, but not here they were excellent!!! Only thing missing is a washer/dryer or dishwasher . This is a hidden peaceful gem !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We paid for 2 nights but left after spending only 1. No refunds either! No cell phone service or internet. No resturants. No staff available after the gift shop closes, so all rooms are always unlocked with the key inside and when you leave you leave the key inside so there is no way to lock the door. Never felt our business was appreciated. Take it or leave it was the attitude I perceived. Don't plan to ever return to the rooms next to the caverns.

Room Tip: Rooms have no fridge or microwave and were so cold the beds felt wet, so we had to turn on the heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llptlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.6 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
16.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
60 reviews
15 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
17.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing