We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get all the facts...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

My husband and I had booked a room at the log motel just to save a little money, rather than spending the extra $50 per night for the cabins. We arrived and were very upset to find that there was construction right next to the log motel, which we were not informed of when making the reservation. So my husband paid the difference and we got a honeymoon cabin so we would not be bothered with loud construction all weekend. The first night at the resort was awful, we stayed in the last cabin #27, which was right next to a bunch of loud obnoxious hound dogs that howled all night and kept us awake. So the next morning I went to the office and the lady working the front desk was very nice and immediately moved us to the other side of the resort, which was a lot nicer. The resort is beautiful and very well kept. Very nice large pool, the cabins are great, my husband and I enjoyed walking the grounds and feeding the trout. Although if you want to fish their pond, which is very tempting with the very large trout, be ready to pay out a nice chunk of change. They charge you to keep them and also if you throw them back. My husband and I love fishing but we were not paying a bunch of money to do so. So if you want to fish for practically nothing just walk out back to the potomac river or go to one of the local lakes. All in all it was a nice gateway, just wished we were forewarned about the construction and dogs.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdw9706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 439 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Well, what was supposed to b a 500 dollar trip turned into a 1000. When we g.ot there, heavy construction was going on, so we had to pay more money for an upgrade.there were no big stores, and they charged you stupid prices for stuff there.only big thing to do is caving,and you have to drive stupid far for everything to do, and everything is up bad dirt roads.waist of time and money

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danny9706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed in a family log cabin over Memorial Day weekend. My first impression of this facility was very good. The grounds are immaculately clean and maintained. The cabin was spacious, well equipped, and very clean. These cabins are spacious, but a bit pricey. They are big enough for 6-8 persons (including kids), so share the expense if you can, but make sure everyone is registered as a guest. There were two bedrooms downstairs with a queen bed in each, and an open loft upstairs with two twin beds, but plenty of room on the floor for air mattress. I will caution anyone with small children about the loft area - the railings are not adequate for small children to be up there without constant supervision. There are huge gaps in the railings, and a kid could EASILY fall over if not careful. My kids are older, so it was not a problem for us. My only other complaints would be that there is only one window type air conditioning unit for the entire cabin, and it is in the main living area. This means that in order to have cool air at night, all doors must be left open, and unit must be running on very cool setting to cool off the other areas of the cabin. You will freeze sitting in the living room so that the temperature in the bedrooms is comfortable. Also, not much privacy for adults if you have to keep doors open.

There were many complaints on here about the manager of the facility, however, we did not have any problems. I would not say that he is the most warm and welcoming person ever, but he was efficient, and all our questions were answered. Housekeeping staff was wonderful also. Only problem we had with staff was for trout fishing. Upon arrival, we requested the trout pond guide for a fishing trip, but he never showed up. If you want to fish, bring your own gear, get a license, and fish in the river behind the resort.

We enjoyed the pool area, and the playground, which was all right out in front of our cabin. Parts of this resort are spread out miles down the road, so if you want to be near the resort facilities, you must be in the log cabin resort area. The high speed internet access was a plus, and connection was great.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Stayed in the honeymoon cabin...due to circumstances, was only for one night. The cabin was very cute...backed up to the trout-stocked river, as all the honeymoon cabins do. Nice heart shaped jacuzzi in the room and wood burning fireplace. Fully equipped kitchen with plates, glasses, pots, pans, coffee maker, etc. Overall, very cute. Oh and the wi-fi worked great and my AT&T phone even got a decent signal.
My only suggestions for improvement--a second nightstand by the bed (which is bouncy and squeaky, so a little difficult to sleep peacefully with a partner), TV relatively tiny--and a DVD player would be nice.
Take some earplugs, as you hear anything blown onto the roof. And if you are a late sleeper, then also a blindfold, as between light curtains and skylights, the room gets light when the sun comes up.
There is a nice pool on the grounds, outdoor only.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WindyCityGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoke_Hole_Resort, Manager at Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2011

Just got back from a hospitality show and have some new ideas. We are starting a 30 day trial and review from our guests on new mattresses that have been approved by the bed and breakfast industry. New super comfy sheets as well. We are trying to up the quality to a personalized stay with added amenities. Logo water available in the fridge, New soaps, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion--Wildflower scent. You will love it. We are also in building mode for our new giftshop located 2 miles from the Log Cabin Resort area. We are a family business and we work hard at trying to meet your needs. Hope to see you again and upgrades are definately on our list. Time, money, and traveling guests will hopefully meet the expectations of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had a large family gathering at Smoke Hole Resort. We had all of the family cabins and many of the honeymoon cabins rented for a 3 - 4 day period. I personally stayed at the RV park, which was sufficient. The resort was beautiful, very clean and staff was quite helpful. They catered 2 meals for our group. Both meals were excellent home cooked and served meals. We had a group of 65 or so and everyone had only good things to say, The cabins were very clean and tastefully decorated and fully stocked with dishes, etc. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We brought our families together for a few days of relaxation and adventure before our wedding. We also had our rehearsal dinner at Smoke Hole.

We can not express our gratitude enough to the friendly staff that made our family time together truly unforgettable. Not only did the staff at Smoke Hole prepare delicious and affordable food and keep every promise that they made, but they also went over and beyond to call of duty to make sure that we were happy and cared for. Our dinner area was decorated and a special table prepared for my husband, son and I...to our surprise. The cabins were comfortable and beautifully decorated. The common area is family friendly and a wonderful place to spend time together. This is the kind of family owned resort that I want to encourage, so please bring your family here and have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenoshabuysse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We had a very nice time. We rented the family cabin that sleeps six. Nice cabin, plenty of room for everyone, very clean and well equiped. Kinda pricey but they had plenty of things for the kids to do at the resort. We are planning to go again in the late fall or early winter . Would like to see some type of coupon to get you to come back , like 2 nights get third free or % off next visit. Cabin needs back porch w/ own grill and fire pit. other than that everything was great...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsdodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.6 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
15 mi away
South Branch Inn Moorefield
South Branch Inn Moorefield
#1 of 2 in Moorefield
69 reviews
16.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
17.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Resort

Address: 8290 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cabins
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort property starts out with Smoke Hole Caverns, the brand new gift shop, the main office, and our log motel being located on the same property. As you travel 2 miles north you will see separated the Smoke Hole Log Cabin Resort area and the Smoke Hole Cottage area. Both groups of cabins our located on their private properties and offer a simply gorgeous rural retreat to the Appalachian Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Smoke Hole Caverns & Log Cabin Hotel Seneca Rocks
Smoke Hole Caverns And Log Cabin Resort
Smoke Hole Family Log Hotel
Smoke Hole Family Log Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing