We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nice folks ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Fork Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Fork Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cabins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice folks ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a lovely, isolated (at least through the eyes of a city couple) property. Perched high on a mountainside, but 1200 vertical feet and two of trail miles below the TOP of the ridge (you get to climb to the top if you have time to spare -- we did, and it was worth it), there are spectacular views from the porch or hot tub. The rooms are large and well-outfitted; I'm far from a toiletry snob but what was left for us was really nice. Beds, chairs, etc -- great. The common areas are pleasant, with many books and magazines available. A very dark sky meant lots of stars. Don't plan on hopping into town for meals; plan on having all your meals at the Inn if you are staying on the mountain. A refrigerator is available as is as i recall a microwave (check with the innkeepers).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ex-staffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
141
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belpre
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The proprietor was extremely friendly as were the other guests. The rooms were decorated nicely and were clean beyond belief. There were hiking paths laid out behind the Inn going as far as two miles in a beautiful wooded areas!

Room Tip: We booked one of the less expensive rooms and was pleased. All rooms looked out over the mountain t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geOrge_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We chose this location as a stop on our trip back for our 25th anniversary vacation and didn't know what to expect. After letting our GPS lead us astray (follow the written directions) we were pleased with what we found. Ed and Carol made us feel right at home. We watched the hummingbirds chase each other around the feeders from the front porch chairs with the beautiful view of the mountains in the background. Both of our breakfasts were outstanding. If I had it to plan over, I would have scheduled our arrival and activities to allow us to be there for the dinners. We did get a picnic lunch to take with us to the Via Ferrata which was delicious. Warning: it is hard to pass the cookie jar by the front door without taking another cookie every time you go out.

Room Tip: The pictures of the rooms on the website give you an accurate feel of the various rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank columbus_phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room here last weekend for a romantic getaway. First off, it's nothing if not romantic. The inn is set atop a mountain overlooking beautiful, rolling hills. Where the inn is located is fairly remote (about 7 miles off the main road), so it was nice and quiet.

When we arrived, we were shown to our room, the Seneca Rock Room. It was all we has been hoping for. The bed was very comfy, with nice fluffy pillows. The bathroom was nice and clean, with complimentary eco-friendly lotion, shampoo, and conditioner that smelled amazing. There was even a make-up cloth I could use so I didn't have to dirty up one of their nice ones! Our room contained a jacuzzi, which we were able to enjoy with a nice bottle of champagne. I'd also like to add that we shared one of our walls with another room and never heard a sound.

There are two women (besides the owners) who work there and they are extremely helpful and friendly. One was kind enough to give us directions to a local swimming hole on the river and we drove out and basked in the sun, swimming in the water all day long with another couple from the inn. Ed and Carol were around just enough. They give the guests their space, but are also available for directions or just friendly talk if you want. Also, Ed's cooking is out of this world.

We came back a lb. or two heavier, but we definitely didn't have any regrets! We hope to be back soon. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dthoma19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The pricing, food, atmosphere, and friendly staff make this a great destination for couples. My girlfriend and I loved every minute and took advantage of a packed lunch that you can add to your bill to take swimming at a nearby river. Dinner was superb, and I would recommend browsing their package deals on their website. The rooms were well kept, the bed was soft, and our room had a lovely jacuzzi tub. The breakfast was phenomenal and my vegetarian girlfriend was taken care of with her dietary needs.Ed and Carol have a great thing going, and it would be a shame to miss out while the weather is right. Just remember to watch out for deer on your way up!

Room Tip: Browse their website and check out the pictures provided for a taste of what you might expect in a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuSayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband took me here for a birthday getaway as a surprise and what a surprise it was....it is a beautiful lodge, fantastic view, great food, and wonderful company...we had a fun time and the food was excellent....including the picnic lunch...we met some very nice people, and had long conversations at dinner...and our room was fantastic!!! We enjoyed every minute and would like to come back someday...Susan and Mike Columbus Ohio

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smjwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

To sit on the front porch and look at the view is one of those special moments in anyone's lifetime. Ed and Carol have location locked up. The hospitality, and amenities are wonderful. Breakfast excellent, as are the dinners. This was a getaway weekend for my wife and I, and could not be beat. Did I mention the deer that come up to the porch to feed?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.6 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
19.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
18.8 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
14.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Mountain Inn

Property: North Fork Mountain Inn
Address: 235 Canyon View Lane, P.O. Box 114, Cabins, WV 26855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cabins
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Fork Mountain Inn has been described as an "outpost of luxury in the wilderness." This 10 room full service Country Inn provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located adjacent to the Monongahela National Forest. This Select Registry property is owned by award winning chef, Ed Fischer and his wife, Carol. They have been featured in the Washingtonian, Washington Press, Around the Panhandle, West Virginia Living, and other regional publications. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Fork Mountain Hotel Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing