We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Peace of Heavan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Fork Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Fork Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cabins B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Little Peace of Heavan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had an amazing time. if your looking for a quiet romantic getaway this is the place. we stayed in the Seneca rock room with a whirl pool bath, it was great, I wish we could stay longer!
The view was amazing, the food was delicious, there are many things to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    23
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
141
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I went here for a relaxing weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Carol is a great host and an excellent cook. The hike behind the inn was spectacular. We hiked about an hour to the top of the ridgeline. We found a large boulder to sit on while we at the picnic lunch that Carol had made for us. The view was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WAnewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent the weekend at North Fork Mountain Inn with another couple and had a great time! The Inn is a bit of an adventure to find with roads that must rank among the most twisty and curvy around-- but it's worth the effort.

The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Both my wife and I remarked that they have the softest bed sheets that we've ever felt! I do recommend bringing your sleep eye mask as the room was pretty bright in the morning. A lot of reviewers also mention that the inn has thin walls-- we did not notice that. In fact, if anything I noticed that it's really quiet.

We did a little hiking from the inn and visited seneca rocks and Smoke Hole Cavern. There's not much to do in the evening other than relax. We enjoyed a great dinner with wine tasting at the Inn. After dinner, Ed built a fire and we played cards to pass the evening.

All in all, a very nice and relaxing weekend. If you're looking to get away, this is definitely a good place to do that.

If you need to be connected, there is no cell service, but they do have wifi and there's a tv (with DirecTV) in the basement "map room".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I went to North Fork Inn for our honeymoon. It was our first BnB experience, and we are happy to say, we are now BnBers for life. Upon arriving, we saw a herd of white tail deer. The atmosphere was perfect for a couple just looking to relax. The rooms exceeded our expectations, and were all very comfortable. Carol was a fantastic inn keeper, and accommodated our needs. We found out that Ed typically cooks for the Inn and was away, but we were very impressed with the Carol's cooking. We liked the food so much, we took home several recipes. We enjoyed lounging in the main area, relaxing in the hot tub, sitting next to the fireplace, sitting out on the patio reading, and knowing that we could hike around if we wanted to. We were able to book massages, and were completely impressed by the set up for one of the most healing massages either of us have had. We have since recommended this BnB to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room on the main level with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My fiancée and I stayed at this wonderful place over the weekend for our one year anniversary. Carol did an amazing job at making us feel relaxed and well taken care of. The atmosphere was such a nice change from the city and we were fortunate enough to stay with other guests who were sociable, making dinner both nights a real treat as we shared stories while eating some great home cooking. Our room had a fireplace, so, it was nice and toasty and the whole space was just really lovely. The game room downstairs had a pool table and various other games for post-hiking/night time fun. I honestly didn't want to leave and we will absolutely be going back (hopefully Ed will be there next time). Thank you Carol for helping to make our anniversary one that we will never forget.

Room Tip: I read a review prior to staying at the inn saying that the walls are thin, but I didn't really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Allie was the inn keeper while Ed and Carol were away, she was awsome, very accommodating even got our own special table for a great anniversary dinner, she gave us great tips on places to go, very organized and alot of responsibilty she handled wonderfully, the rooms were very nice and very clean and very quiet, we are planning on going back in the fall and taking our daughter and staying in one of the cabins. The weather was very cold and snowy but did play pool, enjoyed talking to other guests and just all around great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Ed & Carol are great hosts. Food is good, accommodations are really nice and comfortable. Great gathering place, wonderful views. I highly recommend for a quiet getaway! Log cabins are very homey with lots of books to read, and games to play, including a pool table .Hiking trails start right from the lodge. There is also a hot tub on the deck.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
13.6 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
23.7 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
18.8 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
14.0 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
13.6 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Mountain Inn

Property: North Fork Mountain Inn
Address: 235 Canyon View Lane, P.O. Box 114, Cabins, WV 26855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cabins
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Fork Mountain Inn has been described as an "outpost of luxury in the wilderness." This 10 room full service Country Inn provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner and is located adjacent to the Monongahela National Forest. This Select Registry property is owned by award winning chef, Ed Fischer and his wife, Carol. They have been featured in the Washingtonian, Washington Press, Around the Panhandle, West Virginia Living, and other regional publications. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Fork Mountain Hotel Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing