We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild and Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harman's Luxury Log Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Gans, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wild and Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in "The Mountaineer" 8 person cabin for a weekend in August. The cabin itself is wonderful- 3 bed rooms, plenty of beds, two TVs, pool table, hot tub... everything you could ask for really. And the surrounding area is some of the most beautiful in the world. The perfect place to relax with friends and family. I'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmiller2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at our piece of Heaven on Earth. We enjoyed reading our review. We are located in a beautiful section of Wild & Wonderful WV and we are located in the center of several area attractions. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    75
    24
    5
    13
See reviews for
204
280
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We just got back from 5 days at Harman's. We stayed at cabin 15 at the end of the road. This was our first trip to Harman's. We had an awesome time and will definitely be going back. The fishing was tough since the water was low and clear but I managed to land a few of the huge rainbows. There is so much more to do in the area. We spent a good amount of time just unwinding at the cabin. The scenery is amazing. We had a pair of Bald Eagles circling just above the stream right in front of our cabin. We did some hiking right at the cabins and drove up to Dolly Sods. Dolly Sods was amazing although the wife didn't care for the 28 mile drive on rough dirt roads with no guard rails at high elevations. The cabin was clean and well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thanks for your awesome review Steve. We live in a beautiful section of Wild and Wonderful WV and Harman's is located in the heart of several area attractions. We see the Eagles often. We have several hiking trails at our property and the trail leading to the top of the rocks brings you to an awesome view of the cabins. Our staff does a great job cleaning the cabins. We want the best for our guests. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Several weeks ago my son, a fishing buddy and his two sons, and another friend spent three wonderful days in cabin #20 (Fly Rod Chronicle cabin) at Harman's North Fork Cottages. I can't say enough good things about how friendly and helpful the entire staff was and the cabin was well equipped and beautifully situated. While sitting on the front porch drinking a beer after a great day of fishing, we had a Bald Eagle, with a fish in its talons ,fly right over us. What a beautiful site. It had been 57 years since I'de stayed at Harmans, as my parents would take the family there on vacation in the 50's, but I plan on spending much more time there in the future. Thanks again Harman family and I can't wait to get back over to your " little piece of heaven".

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonefish48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you choose to stay with us at Harman's. Our staff always wants the best for our guests and some staff have been with us numerous years. We are honored that you continue to return to our little piece of Heaven on Earth. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

2nd year in a row for us. Plan to come every October. We LOVE Harman's!!! We hope to bring our kids sometime in the summer. This is the closest place to Heaven on earth, and its West Virginia! The staff is always helpful and polite. The cabins are clean!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshregina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
We enjoyed reading your great review. We are located in a beautiful section of Wild & Wonderful WV and we are located in the heart of several area attractions. We have a great staff that is always willing to serve and assist our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our first trip to Harman's Cottages was in the spring of 2000. Since then we have enjoyed several other trips to the cottages. We have stayed in cabins 2, 9, 11, and 12. All of our stays have been comfortable with wonderful amenities. As the website says, "You are not roughing it". The cabins are cozy and beautiful. The fishing is always a thrill and the people are hospitable. There are many area attractions, however, there are plenty of things to do on-site to keep you entertained. Thank you for providing such a relaxing getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PixieDust888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your high recommendation. We enjoyed reading your review. It sounds like you have made some great memories at Harman's. Our piece of Heaven on Earth is located in the heart of several area attractions. We heavily stock our private trophy trout stream. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you want spectacular scenery, cozy cabins, fishing, and wildlife, you can't do better than this. The cabins are really beautiful--with the full kitchen, hot tub on the porch, gas fireplaces and cable, this ain't exactly roughing it. You are less than a mile from the Monongahela National Forest areas (Dolly Sods), and caving at Seneca Rocks, horseback riding (Yokum's Stables) and other nature-oriented stuff is near. I come for the peace and quiet . . . this is not an area for nightlife, but who cares when you are in a hot tub listening the the rushing river outside? I've stayed here probably a dozen times in all four seasons . . .will keep coming back.

Room Tip: All different size cabins--make sure the hot tub or jacuzzi option is also right for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Carrie thanks for taking the time to post your comments. Harman's is a great place to visit any time of the year. Our scenery is breathtaking. Thanks for your continued patronage. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed at Harman's North Fork Cottages twice in the last year. Yhe first time was in November of 2011. We stayed in the Flyrod Chronicles cabin. We were 5 adults and 3 children. Everyone had a good time. Some fished... and yes there were trout to catch over the Thanksgiving weekend. Others went hiking and others sight seeing in the surrounding area. I was worried about the "city" kids not being entertained. They played outside in the day time and down stairs in the game room at night. We found the facilities clean and supplied as advertised. I repeat... no one wanted to leave when our time was up.
Subsequently my wife and I have returned and spent the night in a small cabin. Again I found the place to provide a real value. The cabin was exactly as advertised. It was on the river (full of big trout) in a beautiful setting. For the money I don't think you can beat the place. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 2, 2016
Thank you for your recommendation. We are always honored when folks choose to visit with us again. Fly Rod Chronicle is the last cabin that we built; however we will be building Cabin #21 this upcoming winter. Our scenery is breathtaking any time of the year. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
10.5 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
15.2 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
24.8 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
10.5 mi away
Canaan Village Inn
Canaan Village Inn
#1 of 7 in Davis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bend State Park Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harman's Luxury Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harman's Luxury Log Cabins

Property: Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Address: 10042 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855-8594 (Formerly Harman's North Fork Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cabins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harman's Luxury Log Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Log Cabins are located on the banks of a private trophy trout stream, the North Fork of the South Branch of the Potomac River. These riverside log cabins have a spectacular river view twice featured in Wonderful West Virginia Magazine. Our rental cabins are available year-round. Each cabin is fully furnished with a private outdoor Hot Tub. One bedroom cabins have an indoor Jacuzzi Tub for a Romantic Getaway and Private Outdoor Hot Tub. Two, three and four bedroom family cabins have a private outdoor Hot Tub. All vacation cabins have a fireplace, DSS Sat TV with DVD player, WIFI access, fully appointed kitchens, dish washer, linens and towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harman`s North Fork Cottages Hotel Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing