We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our fun stay at the Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our fun stay at the Cottages”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

6 people thouroughly enjoyed the stay at Harmens North fork Cottages. We have been using the cottages ever since we discovered them on a drive in 2004. There is tons of things to do like fishing , hiking, relaxing in the hot tub or just snuggling on the couch with the fire place. We like that the cabin is big and roomy and 6 people together do not make it cramped.. The people are nice and the cabins were clean. The view and experience of nature is priceless..

Room Tip: THey have one room with 2 singles in it so, kids are welcome
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 13, 2016
Thank you Beth for your great review. Harman's is in the center of several area attractions so there is plenty of outdoor nature activities. It sounds like you have made some wonderful memories. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    79
    27
    7
    13
See reviews for
222
303
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We spent a nice long Thanksgiving weekend in Cabin 19 (Pet Haven) which is the only cabin that allows pets. It is located 5 miles from the other cabins, At first, I was taken back by the neighborhood that this cabin was located in because it was the only log cabin amongst other rental properties. But all and all it was a quiet neighborhood and the river is only about 1/2 mile walk down the road. The cabin is on an acre of property so our labs had plenty of room to run around and play.
The inside of the cabin is very nice. The kitchen suited us well and we were able to cook a big meal without any problems. The WiFi worked and both myself and my sister played on our laptops. I found that the upstairs loft with the queen bed was very very warm! It has a ceilng fan, but it clicked loudy when on high. If I ever stay there again, I will bring a box fan or maybe they could supply one since there aren't any air ducts up there for the A/C to cool it off. The light above the dining room table could use a good dusting and the huge windows in the front of the cabin could use a good washing.
I loved the fact that the vaccuum was left there and I was able to keep the place clean of the dog's shedding hair. I loved the fireplace and the tv worked fine and it has Directv.
We drove over to the main property and happend to meet Todd the owner. He was very informative about the good fishing spots. The river was very high due to a ton of rain in the days prior to our arrival, so we only fished a little bit and didn't catch anything.
We did enjoyed our stay and will return...hopefully next spring or fall.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookiefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I would like to thank Mr. Harman for recently calling and admitting that there was a roach problem in the cabin that my husband and I stayed in at over the July 4th Holiday. He stated that someone else recently saw roaches in cabin#4 and his employees knew of an ongoing problem but did not make him aware. He assured me that the problem was now taken care of and asked what he could do to make it right. I accepted a one night refund along with an open ended two night voucher for two. Our friends will be using these. While this wasn't our best vacation we will remember the apology.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gwoltmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Owner at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your follow up review. In our 75th year of business, we would like to offer you another stay at Harman's. Please contact the office at 800 436 6254, if you would consider coming back to Harman's during this celebration year.

The Harman's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is our second time staying at Harman's North Fork Cottages. We love it here. The first time we stayed in one of the older cabins the view was great. Walk right out and a view of the cliff. This time we had to stay in two different cabins as couldn't get the same cabin for four nights because was booked up. First 2 nights we stayed in Eagles Nest. It was very nice. A loft and then hardwood floors. Nice size kitchen. Then we had to move to Brown Trout. It is still a nice cabin but Eagle's Nest was so much nicer. The main complaint about Brown Trout is the hot water tank isn't big enough to use the Jacuzzi tub. We used it once and now have no hot water. Plus the kitchen isn't stocked as well as the other kitchen but why nitpick. It is a very beautiful place to stay and plan on coming back again. We love it here. The trout stream is very nice. Unfortunately I didn't catch anything but it was my first time trout fishing so I didn't expect much. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Eagles nest is the best cabin we have stayed in so far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dustin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Thank you Dustin for your review. We have an awesome view of the rock mountain cleft and it has been featured in Wild & Wonderful magazine a couple of times. We now offer guided fishing so if you stay again you should ask to speak to Ed as he can give you some great tips. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The scenery is nice but unfortunately not much privacy as the cabins are right beside each other. The real problem however was the claim to have WiFi for all cabins. Not sure about the other cabins but there was no WiFi in cabin 6. I don't get upset about things not working because that's life, but when my wife let them know it wasn't working they said they would have someone from maintenance fix it and we never heard from them again. Aside from the terrible service the Jacuzzi was really the only plus and you can find those at a lot of better places.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artist106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Owner at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Review: The real problem however was the claim to have WiFi for all cabins. Not sure about the other cabins but there was no WiFi in cabin 6. I don't get upset about things not working because that's life, but when my wife let them know it wasn't working they said they would have someone from maintenance fix it and we never heard from them again.

Response: We have continued to upgrade the WiFi at the cabins. We believe everything possible has been done on our part to provide the best WiFI access available for a rural location in West Virginia.

The Harman's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverson, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My big extended family stays here every year. We rent out four cabins to cover everyone. We are now on year five and I can tell you that if you are looking for a place to relax, enjoy the outdoors and find the kindest folks, it's here. We look forward to coming back and book again soon after leaving. Fishing for the guys is incredible, open space for the kids is refreshing and porch space on the cabins or sitting in the hot tubs to chit chat with the ladies is what it is all about!

Room Tip: Choose a cabin away from the entrance. I'm sure you hear the traffice noise otherwise. Have ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valpetrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
I love your caption. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Harman's. We appreciate your business. We are located right in the heart of several area attractions. It sounds like your family has made some great memories with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoemakersville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our whole family (20 of us) goes to WV every summer together. We have stayed at Harman's cottages the past 2 years and will go back the summer of 2012 also. We have rented 3 cottages each year and have great experiences with no problems. We highly recommend Harman's Cottages in Wonderful WV!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLP41148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvl0gcabins, Front Office Manager at Harman's Luxury Log Cabins, responded to this review, September 16, 2016
Thank you for your great review. We are always pleased when guests continue to return. It sounds like you have made some great memories with us at Harman's. We hop to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabins
10.4 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
14.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Davis
53 reviews
4.5 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Blackwater Falls State Park Lodge
24.8 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
9.9 mi away
Windwood Fly-in Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harman's Luxury Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harman's Luxury Log Cabins

Property: Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
Address: 10042 N Fork Hwy, Cabins, WV 26855-8594 (Formerly Harman's North Fork Cottages)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Cabins
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cabins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harman's Luxury Log Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Luxury Log Cabins are located on the banks of a private trophy trout stream, the North Fork of the South Branch of the Potomac River. These riverside log cabins have a spectacular river view twice featured in Wonderful West Virginia Magazine. Our rental cabins are available year-round. Each cabin is fully furnished with a private outdoor Hot Tub. One bedroom cabins have an indoor Jacuzzi Tub for a Romantic Getaway and Private Outdoor Hot Tub. Two, three and four bedroom family cabins have a private outdoor Hot Tub. All vacation cabins have a fireplace, DSS Sat TV with DVD player, WIFI access, fully appointed kitchens, dish washer, linens and towels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harman`s North Fork Cottages Hotel Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing