We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Food, Lots of Atmosphere, Fun Place!”
Review of C.J. Maggies

C.J. Maggies
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Buckhannon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Big Food, Lots of Atmosphere, Fun Place!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Come hungry is you order a sandwich here. I got the Sicilian and I could have made four normal meals from it. Other members of my party got quesadillias, steak and another sandwich all enjoyed what they ordered but everyone was in agreement that they ate too much food. The sweet tea was not sweet enough for us southerners. One thing that was absolutely great was the fried beans, they are not to be missed. The prices are a little high but not bad considering the amount of food. We did not get one but I have read from other reviews that the pizzas are very good, and they are done in wood fired oven. I didn't order one because it was too large, but so was my sandwich. Service was average, but attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    67
    34
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Prices”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate at the C.J. Maggies in Buckhannon, WV and Elkins. The food was very well prepared and prompt. Staff in both establishments was courteous. We felt like we got a good value for what we paid. The kids' plates were frisbees that they could take with them. I also thought it was creative that they gave each of our kids noodles and string to make a necklace or bracelet as entertainment while we waited instead of paper & crayons. Wish we had these restaurants up where we live.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Co11eenq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, PA
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Funky place, average food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Neat place to eat, very varied menu but the service was lacking. Inside nice atmosphere and you could hardly choose the menu was so big. Food was average, nothing we had really stands out. Service was friendly but our server was very forgetful and we were there a long time. The whole place seemed to be just waiting for service, food or their bill and were complaining. I don;t know why, because they were not very crowded. Wouldn't eat here if you are trying to make the show in town or had a time frame.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food was great and not that expensive”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The atmosphere is a bit noisy but the food was great , the fried green beans are out of this world delicious. You may have to wait if it is Friday or Saturday night but the time went fast. We waited about 15 minutes

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank suziesheltie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service and atmosphere. Will be back for sure.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Cj Maggies is an awesome place. Never expected to find such a good place in the middle of west Virginia

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adairene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C.J. Maggies also viewed

 

Been to C.J. Maggies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing