We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, friendly staff - but PLEASE turn on some A/C !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice place, friendly staff - but PLEASE turn on some A/C !”
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Pros - Nice area to stopover at. Plenty of restaurants to choose from, all of which are very good. Pool and fitness area are sparkling clean and well kept. All areas of the hotel are clean and well maintained. Staff is very friendly. Large selection of TV channels. The room was recently repainted and had new fixtures, carpeting and tile. Breakfast was very good and had a lot to offer.

Cons - Area weather just turned warmer. There are individual units in each room that are supposed to turn on a/c or heat. They have disabled all of the a/c compressors in each of the units until spring. The room even in the overnight never got cold and it was extremely hot and stuffy. If the units are individually controlled - why must they be disabled? According to front desk personnel they have not turned on the "Secret switch" on each unit. If a guest is complaining about their room being 80 degrees then they should have turned on their A/C ! I have also noticed since staying in this location in the past they have installed extremely low flow shower heads resulting in almost no water pressure at all in the shower.

Overall, a nice hotel, but ask if the a/c is turned on if it is warm outside.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKF56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    111
    63
    22
    9
See reviews for
116
90
25
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed at the Hampton Inn twice during our trip to Florida: once on the way down and once on the way back, obviously. We chose the Hampton Inn as we have stayed in 2 others before, which were both great (especially the one in Jonesville). The one in Bridgeport was a little disappointing.

The staff were friendly enough. They answered all our questions about restaurants in the sorrounding area.

The room was pretty disappointing. First off, they need to either be renovated or cleaned floor to ceiling, in every knook and cranny. We felt the rooms were somewhat smaller than what we are used to with Hampton. The bathrooms were very small. The biggest problem I had was the cleanliness of the room. I dropped a pen behind the nightstand and when I retrieved it, I found a lot of garbage from previous guests. I reported it to the front desk on checkout and they made a note of it.

The breakfasts (although free) were also disappointing. Again, having stayed at other Hampton's, we expected better.

When we did check out on our second stay, I made a note to tell them that I felt they were overpriced (compared to the Fairfield Inn, in Columbia SC). I even showed them the price that we paid at the Fairfield. The staff member commented that they are a different chain and in a different area. In my opinion, it doesn't matter what part of the country you are in, you still have to compete with other hotels. She did reduce my rate to the Fairfield, which was fair.

Overall, the hotel was ok. If I drive to Florida again, I may look at driving either an hour more or less to find a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

Stayed here on the way back from Myrtle Beach. Great location off I-79 and right beside Bob Evans which is decent. Rates are a bit high, but hotel has indoor pool, hot tub, great beds and free hot breakfast. Good hotel to stop at.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2009

We recently had bad storms and power outages in this area. I needed a place to stay, and for warmth and hot water, until I got my electric back on. I was able to get a room here.

The staff was friendly upon check-in. The room was nice, newly renovated. The heat was easy to adjust and not loud when it did run.

I always complain when the bathrooms do not have exhaust fans, but not many hotels have this feature, as this one didnt either.

The lighting was excellent, in bathroom and room area. Full length mirror, plenty of tv channels and HBO. Nice desk area, and chair and ottoman, along with the 2 double beds. Coffee maker.

The shower was ok, I found it very difficult to find the button that converts the water to the shower and after I found it, I found it very hard to push. It seemed a bit of an old style, and style I had never seen before. Cant complain too much, I was glad to have hot water.

Just off the interstate. The place was quiet, and it appeared to be full that night. THey have swimming pool. Breakfast par for the course for a Hampton. Bob Evans within walking distance. Mall with Target, JCP and Garfield's Restaurant 1/2 mile. Outback Restaurant in mall parking lot. Ask front desk for other local restaturants.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed here on a trip back from the south. Great location, right off I-79. There was a Bob Evans next door and a mall across the highway. The hotel itself was very clean and well run. Breakfast was typical of the Hampton Inn. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

Over night stay, room and property are extremely well cared for ..Service was so friendly ..and The Mall ( with Target and Penneys) was just 1/2 mile away..with a great Outback Restaurant ..I just can not say enough about the service we received in both the hotel and for dinner.

  • Liked — Appearance and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARBARA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Heights
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Quoted rates are quite high but we obtained a discounted AAA rate, which was still above $90, which is steep for this location.

Hotel was clean and quiet, breakfast was par for what we expected.

All in all, it was an "OK" experience.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank railroader60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bridgeport Clarksburg
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bridgeport
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
421 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bridgeport
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg

Property: Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg
Address: 1515 Johnson Ave, Bridgeport, WV 26330-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgeport
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgeport
#5 Family Hotel in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg is conveniently located in Bridgeport, West Virginia. Stroll down the sidewalks of historic downtown Clarksburg and take in the city’s original architecture. Make the short drive to the picnic areas and scenic overlooks in the area. Whether you prefer golfing, hiking or horseback riding, there is something for everyone in the Bridgeport/Clarksburg area. And while you visit, enjoy a free, hot breakfast, high-speed internet, pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing