We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - but no hot tub (contrary to posted pictures)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel - but no hot tub (contrary to posted pictures)”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Bridgeport/Clarksburg Hampton Inn was a decent hotel (stayed there last night). The room was up to the typical Hampton Inn standards (very clean).

Breakfast was fantastic - lots of choices.

One complaint - the pictures of the Hotel show a hot tub. When we went to the pool area last night, the hot tub has been filled in with concrete. Nothing stated on the website that the hot tub has been removed, and the pictures show the hot tub in operation. I asked at the front desk what happened, and was told the it had been removed - too costly to maintain it.

Needless to say - the kids were very disappointed as they like being able to use the hot tub & pool (which we specifically chose this Hampton Inn to stay at with both the pool and hot tub).

The website needs to be updated with proper pictures (although it appears it was probably removed recently as there have been no tiles placed over the concrete).

The hotel is easy to access from the Interstate with a large gas station (and convenience store/pizza restaurant) right beside. A Bob Evans restaurant is also just the other side of the gas station.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor (near the pool) - no problem with noise from the Interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdn_Traveller_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    109
    58
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
88
24
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My first stay at a hampton. I can say that i'll never stay at one ever again.
Im a person who enjoys taking baths. The plug wouldn't stay closed. So i had to keep pressure on it with my foot.
The bath tub itself was completely disgusting. Yellow marks everywhere, im pretty sure there were pubic hairs on the wall and side of the tub, small case of mold, the coking was cracked, the water kept going from hot to cold, the fan was not working, the granite installed bad which ruined the attempted nice and clean look.
The beds were comfortable and clean, like the commercial. On the other hand, the AC was so loud and didn't cool the room down what so ever.
The pool was so cold. I was in for 10 minutes and I had blue lips. It was also very small and shallow.
The only part i enjoyed, was the breakfast.
The one other good thing was that it was right beside a has station and very close to the interstate.
Im just gonna make it clear, this is the last hampton i'm ever staying at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xavier S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Nicely updated and maintained, stylish desk / work area and décor. Very complete bath amenities including mouthwash; good lighting. That being said this hotel gets the prize as having the WORST TV service of any hotel I’ve stayed in in recent memory. Has the nicer wide screen HD TV’s and not only do they not have HD service, they have terrible snow filled regular TV. Front desk says getting new service is a “process”; I’d fire their current supplier tomorrow and get new immediately, that would be my “process”. Also the AC wouldn’t cycle on; just blew air; front desk says their units are either set for summer or winter; won’t do both, not a good system. Wireless high speed internet connected quickly but was very slow, .65 MBPS download speed per speedtest.net; just barely better than dial-up. Breakfast is just fine. Restaurants within walking distance. Bring a book and forget the TV.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30-StateTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed 2 nights while visiting this small friendly town...no complaints.

Room Tip: At Exit 121
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaTechDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Mountains, North Carolina
Level Contributor
222 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This Hampton has all the things expected of a Hampton Hotel, but seems to be a little pricey considering its location. There is very limited restaurants around except for a Bob Evans.
The hotel had no AARP or AAA rates available, which seemed hard to understand as it is the middle of winter. Seems like a lot of workers in the area are staying there as the hotel seemed well occupied, and busy for breakfast.

Room Tip: Book early as they seem to be busy and have limited discount rates available. Also plan on eating br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredtraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

We used hotel points for a free room here, on our way to D.C. for vacation. The location was great for an overnight stay, just off the highway. Our room was fine - typical, good Hampton bedding and furnishings, with plenty of extra pillows and comfy linens. We arrived on Christmas night; no restaurants were open, but the well-stocked gas/convenience store next door had microwave soups and other dinner goodies that we brought back and heated/ate in the hotel breakfast area. Without being asked, the clerk turned the tv to a children's movie for our family, which was a nice touch. After dinner, the indoor pool provided a good outlet for kids cooped up in a vehicle all day.

The free wi-fi worked perfectly. Our room, pool area, and all common areas were clean and in good working order. The staff was friendly and professional. Breakfast was typical Hampton fare, which is fine and a good start to the day. All in all, the hotel met our expectations for a Hampton Inn and was a good overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I arrived around 200pm and was only staying 10 hours..the best price I could get was $100.00 which I feel was a little steep for this area..hotel was old but has been refurbished lately..room was typical hampton...clean,comfy,a/c-htr was quiet and worked good..plenty of hot water and good pressure in shower..downfall was no refridge or microwave in room..was not offered a bottle of water or snack at check in or a breakfast bag at checkout which is standard offerings for a diamond member...the stay was not bad but I feel it wasnt up to standards of the other hamptons I have stayed in..I will try another motel the next time I am back in that area...

Room Tip: make sure you ask if room has a microwave and refrigerator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bridgeport Clarksburg
2.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bridgeport
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Garden Inn
#1 of 3 in Clarksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Bridgeport
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bridgeport Clarksburg
2.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bridgeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg

Property: Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg
Address: 1515 Johnson Ave, Bridgeport, WV 26330-1016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bridgeport
#5 Family Hotel in Bridgeport
#5 Business Hotel in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg is conveniently located in Bridgeport, West Virginia. Stroll down the sidewalks of historic downtown Clarksburg and take in the city’s original architecture. Make the short drive to the picnic areas and scenic overlooks in the area. Whether you prefer golfing, hiking or horseback riding, there is something for everyone in the Bridgeport/Clarksburg area. And while you visit, enjoy a free, hot breakfast, high-speed internet, pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bridgeport/Clarksburg Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing