We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely time”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oak Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Oak Cottage
Hot tub and decking
Oak Cottage
Sunset over Oak Cottage
Loch Tay
Oak Cottage
Loch frontage
Oak Cottage
Craggantoul
Bluebells in Craggantoul forest
Snowcapped Ben Lawers mountain
Craggantoul forest walks
Craggantoul snows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Lawers, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alan C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely time”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My partner and I are just back from spending three nights at Oak Cottage. We had such a lovely time.

The cottage is warm and secluded. It is tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. The hot tub was particularly inviting especially after a day's exploring of the surrounding area.

The cottage is in an excellent location. There are stunning views of Loch Tay and the mountains. You can walk down to the Loch through the woods which is an adventure in itself! The cottage is situated almost half way between Killin and Kenmore. Both towns have good restaurants, shops and plenty to see and do. The Crannog centre was of particular interest.

We both agreed we shall be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin H
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just amazing!”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had 4 nights here and did not want to leave. The cottage itself is beautiful with everything you need and incredibly comfortable. The location, words cant do it justice. The view and the way it changes through out each day as the light changes is something really special. We travelled from Australia and spent 5 and a half weeks going through Scotland, Ireland and France and out time here was a real highlight. If you are thinking about staying here or at any other Craggantoul properties, just do it. You will not regret it.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mb25uk
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly nestled away cabin with stunning views”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

First time staying at Oak Cottage, but the 3rd time we have been back to one of many cabins Nina and Greg provide - we stayed for 2 weeks and brought our young son with us. Scenery on the way is beautiful. Location is beautifully nestled in the best location next to loch Tay. Cabin is lovely and reminds me of a little cottage but with all the mod-cons. Cabin is equipped with everything you would need even a hot tub- whether it be for a short or long stay. It is decorated beautifully inside and is very clean. There's plenty to do within the estate and out with. Places near by -
BEN LAWERS HOTEL
KILLIN
KENMORE
There are plenty walks that are suitable for keen or not so keen walkers. We seen various wildlife from deers, pheasants and various birds- including a family of woodpeckers.( A tip for anyone take bird seed and nuts the birds and woodpeckers will come back again and again- Nina and Greg have provided various bird feeders around the cabin) All in all we couldn't recommend it anymore it's like a home away from home and so worth the visit. We can't keep away and always end up booking again for the following year, it's our favourite place to be. Keep up all the good work Nina and Greg.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELEANOR B
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 15, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Oak Cottage Friday-Monday at the beginning of the October School Week. What a beautiful house and a beautiful part of Scotland. We got there after dark on the Friday night and would recommend you follow the directions the property give you because we made the mistake of following the postcode on Sat Nav and ended up down completely the wrong road. It didn't take us long to find the place after that mishap though and the heating had been left on for us so the house was lovely and cosy. The house itself has everything you could need. Kitchen very well equipped with dishwasher, big fridge, washing machine and all the cutlery and tableware you are likely to need. Huge open plan kitchen and living room. Two bedrooms, one double and one twin and both en suite, The decor is really good and the master bath off the double room is gorgeous. The property has a private hot tub on the patio which the kids loved playing in. The views of Loch Tay are breathtaking and nothing between the cottage and the loch apart from grass and trees. The walk from the cottage takes about 15 minutes and isn't for the faint hearted on the way back up! Down at the loch you can fish, paddle, skim stones etc. The cottage has board games and dvd's and books for entertainment if needed. So quiet and relaxing. We visited The Crannog and Falls of Dochart and would recommend both. Would definitely go back to Oak Cottage and happily recommend to friends and family for a break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful Property and location.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_A_E_and...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Tranquility and Escapism”
Reviewed June 15, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful week-long break enjoyed at end-May / start-Jun at Oak Cottage. The accommodation is very good, the photos on the website don't really do justice to the size of the main room and the overall spec.

The organisation beforehand was very slick and we arrived and were settled in immediately. With everything we needed bought en route from the Tesco Express in Callendar (and topped up with visits to Co-Op in Killin throughout the week). There were also some essentials left in the cottage which were greatly appreciated, e.g. salt & pepper, olive oil, etc.

The main focus of the cottage is the fabulous aspect out of the front, looking down through meadows and onwards to Loch Tay and the stunning surroundings. It's beautiful to look at from lazy meals on the decking, but even more fun to explore. 15 minutes hike down to the loch-side (a little steep at times, but we managed it in flip-flops) and then swimming at the mini-beach - glorious.

We were blessed with fantastic weather, which also meant our daughters (and ourselves) got to play badminton on the lawn, frisbee in the meadows, etc, etc. Do watch out for ticks though… 3 out of the 4 of us had an unexpected visitor found us, removed via a somewhat hit'n'miss cotton loop pulled tightly around it (they just look like a large freckle or mole).

Oak Cottage is fabulous as it isn't overlooked at all. The only people we saw from Craggantoul were very occasionally (like maybe 2 or 3 times in the entire week), were other people walking down to the lock or exploring around the grounds. And even then they were in the distance, not imposing on the privacy of this property. And I don't think you can see anything man-made across the whole horizon!

The only issue that we had whilst we were there was that the door wouldn't lock, as the heat (yes, 'heat') had caused the door frame to expand. However, we called the help number and someone was around within 3 minutes (honestly), and then a carpenter called out to resolve within 24 hours. We were also generously provided with a bottle of Prosecco as an apology for this - which really wasn't needed but was graciously received.

Areas to explore are the Ben Lawers Nature Reserve (which has a lovely gentle track for those with young families who maybe aren't quite as extreme), and then over the valley into Glen Lyon, which is simple stunning and like the land that time forgot.

We barbecued at the property on a number of evenings, but then also ate at the Bridge of Lochay pub (not wonderful but good quality pub grub), and the 'Bistro' at the Highland Lodges just 2 mins down the road (very basic but a lovely location overlooking a little harbour on the loch-side).

Wifi was slow but available for the first 24 hours… and then disappeared completely for the rest of our stay. It wasn't a problem for us, in actual fact is was quite a relief, however the service is exactly as advertised… 'Temperamental'!

And I haven't even mentioned the hot tub, which was idyllic to laze around in and observe the stunning views. Whilst also being private, very clean and easy to pop in and out from the Cottage to. Our only problem was that it was simply too hot given the weather we had, although I can't imagine this being a problem that too many visitors experience.

Overall, a truly fabulous location to strike out and explore proper Scotland within easy reach… but then also so wonderful that you could just spend comfy days lazing around in the Cottage and revelling in the stunning views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lila M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed March 18, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Travelled here with a group of friends due to cancellation on another booking with another company. We were very glad at the end that this had been the case as this cottage is a gem! Lovely surroundings with spectacular views. Extremely clean and tidy and decorated very well.

In terms of activities in the area we were only there for a couple of days so just enjoyed the cottage and the hot tub! But if you can drive there is a lot to do in surrounding towns.

Will be back and thanks for a lovely weekend.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glittergo...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 15, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning location, perfect hot tub and fully equipped. Peaceful and relaxing, not much open in January in surrounding area but that wasn't what we wanted.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing