We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Better than diving in a UK quarry sounds!

Finally got round to adding dry suit to our diving options. We trained at Jackdaw quarry, which... read more

Reviewed yesterday
DickBurton
,
Garstang, United Kingdom
Great setup love the bbq

Great setup for diving, lots to see the under the water, good cafe with nice warm food. Staff are... read more

Reviewed April 13, 2019
Kate L
via mobile
Read all 57 reviews
  
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
39
15
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
39
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot chocolate on site great facilities brilliant place changing rooms open water fish dry suit filling station air fills great training shop cafe attractions trainee depth toilets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 57 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Great day diving, lovely food, entrance fee fine, but bit of a shock that the upgrade from trainee to full diver was £25.00 on top

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank steve56emeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol H, Manager at Capernwray Diving Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2019

Hi Steve
Thanks for the four stars! I am sorry but I think you have misunderstood the system now. We used to have a trainee card which cost £10. Lifetime costs £25. You could upgrade your temporary card for the £15 difference provided that it was still valid ie within the six months. After that you had to start again. We changed our system on 1 June 2018 and we now have a day rate or lifetime membership. All previous trainee cards expired before the end of 2018. When you visited, your card had expired so it was not an upgrade but a new membership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

A lot of thought has gone into the facilities provided and it shows. Capernwray is good for training, refreshing skills and trying new kit out in a benign environment. There is also somewhere to go during the dive interval.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Travellindiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Have been here twice now with my 14 year old son who was doing dry suit training.
Great set up with loads of people diving, all enjoying a great hobby.
Facilities are fine although changing room/toilet could be a bit bigger.
On site café does a great coffee & a selection of hot food for when you have worked up an appetite.
If you're into diving or fancy giving it a go join a dive club & pay them a visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank 80martinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

This was my third visit to the centre. My buddy Adam and I had three dives, all good quality vis 6-8m. Saw most of the attractions, the best was saved to the last found the gnome garden made me smile. A good day out didn't go into the centre as we were self sufficient, the changing room was large and more than adequate.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank johnlongeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

visited here in August with my son, a DM. Cannot relate to previous comments about miserable staff, the ones we dealt with in both shop and café were all most pleasant and helpful. Always enjoy coming here, would rate it overall better than Stoney Cove primarily due to happier staff !!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank oldtrout42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews