We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John and Barbara from Edinburgh”
Review of Capernwray House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capernwray House
Ranked #1 of 1 Capernwray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a find Capernwray House was! - beautiful surroundings, a warm welcome, a huge comfortable bed to sleep in and a delicious cooked breakfast with almost unlimited choice of things to eat. Mel and Roy Smith are such hospitable people we felt as if we were staying with relatives. We intend to visit again as soon as possible and will strongly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in Cumbria.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 429 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Friendly, clean and spacious furnished and decorated to a high standard. Staff helpful and attentive and good breakfast. Ample parking. Nice quiet place to stay, good sized room with plenty of seating. Will use again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LennonMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The facilities an hospitality shown at Capernmray House were excellent. Every thing was top class which made our stay so enjoyable. We shall certainly recommend it to our friends and look forward to staying there again sometime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here, 19th. and 20th. of September. On arrival we were delighted to be offered tea and homemade cake, which we enjoyed in the guests lounge.
Our room, Teal, had a superking size bed with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside towards the Lake District. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy and spacious with everything you would need including luxury bath robes.
The breakfast menu was extensive with plenty of choices to suit all tastes.
Mel and Roy were lovely hosts who made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home.
We enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Capernwray, and would definitely stay there again.
Roger and Diana T.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay with Mel & Roy in their lovely home, Capernwray House.
They made us feel very welcome and it was a pleasure to meet them. The location is beautiful, away from the hustle & bustle of city life, but not too far away from the beautiful Lake District.
My husband & I enjoyed our breakfasts and the facilities were second to none. Our bedroom, the Teal Room was spacious, clean & airy with a very comfortable bed & an en-suite bathroom.
It was a pleasure to stay at Capernwray House & we hope to reurn for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Room Tip: I should imagine that all the rooms are well appointed---I think that two of them have baths with ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynis636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights here (20th/21st Sept ), with friends and the whole experience was fantastic. Excellent food, comfortable and spotless accommodation of the highest standard and Mel and Roy Smith who could not do enough for you. We have stayed in many B&Bs, hotels, lodges and cottages all over the UK, and this comes top of the list!

We will certainly visit again when we next meet up with our friends from our home town - Bolton - as we now live near Cockermouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed for one night, but a welcome cup of tea refreshed me after a 6 hour drive from London.

A well decorated room and ensuite, free wifi and a lovely breakfast.

Clean and tidy and great hosts

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capernwray
1.3 mi away
Redwell Inn
Redwell Inn
#1 of 1 in Arkholme
118 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carnforth
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pine Lake Resort
Pine Lake Resort
#1 of 9 in Carnforth
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#3 of 10 in Carnforth
178 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ghyll Beck House B&B
Ghyll Beck House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ireby
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capernwray House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capernwray House

Address: Capernwray House Hobsons Lane, Capernwray, Carnforth LA6 1AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lancaster District > Carnforth > Capernwray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capernwray
Price Range: $117 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capernwray House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ETB 5 star silver award family run country house B&B - gateway to Lake District and Yorkshire Dales, Lancaster and Morecambe. Set in the heart of beautiful countryside and yet within 5 min of M6 .. Extremely peaceful. Our reviews say it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capernwray House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing