We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value, cold rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value, cold rooms”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

While the place was clean and the owner was friendly, I can't recommend staying here. Now the negatives:

* The place is about 10 minutes outside of town. There are better places to stay in town that are cheaper and will allow you to walk everywhere rather than drive. Although pretty during the day, it is a dark, winding, dangerous drive at night.

* Breakfast was sub-par. Both days we were served overcooked scrambled eggs, biscuits (obviously from a can)/toast, bacon/sausage, and a nominal amount of fruit with bad coffee. There just wasn't a lot of effort here and the food was many notches below what I've had in other B&Bs.

* The air outside was in the 50s and 60s and about the same inside. We talked to another couple who also said their room was very cold. On top of that, when we went to use the jacuzzi, there was not enough hot water to fill it up.

* Very uncomfortable, SQUEAKY beds.

The only thing keeping this from a one-star rating is the cleanliness of the place. For half the price, this would be okay, but at the prices they charge, this is not even close to worth it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD_Traveler574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We were on our honeymoon during the Apple Butter Festival, and my husband wanted rustic, peaceful, and relaxing. The Inn is just outside of town in a beautiful area. Dale gave excellent directions making it easy to find. The "Almost Heaven" room was just what we were looking for with its fireplace, rustic charm, and whirlpool bath. It was very clean and we were given personal instructions on the use of the facilities along with a folder full of information on the Inn, local restaurants, and activites. There was ample information available on local shopping, the history of Berkeley Springs, taking the waters, and local activities. Dale and Linda were always available for directions and advice on local restaurants, attractions, and activities as well. Breakfasts each morning were good and included personal service and friendly conversation. We are definitely returning when we come to Berkeley Springs again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Beautiful area just outside of town. Wonderful hospitality, very clean and private area. The view was beautiful and drive back to the inn is enjoyable. We had a very welcoming experience by Dale, and Dana. We would certainly go back!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the carriage house! It's a home away from home. The bed was a little to firm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Pennsylvaina
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We were just starting out in a new relationship and decided to try a bed and breakfast for a more intimate and romantic atmosphere. We checked out The Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn on line and found that the room "Almost Heaven" seemed to be what we were looking for. It was cozy and comfortable with a kind of rustic charm. We enjoyed our first night there in front of the fireplace having an indoor picnic. Dale and Linda were lovely host and hostess. They were there if we needed anything, but were very respectful of our privacy. Although we did not use the jacuzzi tub, the bathroom was very nice and clean and pleasantly decorated. The breakfast was very good and especially enjoyed the fresh fruit cups. Would certainly consider staying there again for a special weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2010

For our two year anniversary, my partner and I chose the Almost Heaven room at Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn for a two-night stay. Dale was very friendly and happy to offer some excellent recommendations for dining and shopping. The room was cozy and clean, and the fireplace was nothing if not inviting. A delicious breakfast both mornings, accompanied by some good conversation. The inn is located in a secluded area overlooking some fantastic scenery, including more deer than we could count.

The one complaint we had was that the jacuzzi tub was far too noisy. Because of this, its use is restricted to before 10pm.

Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn was the perfect location for our romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewFFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Carriage House. Quaint, cute, and with enough privacy for a nice romantic getaway. Clean and well kept. Homey touches, like the Hummel figures in the bedroom, and a novelty lamp in the bath are welcoming. The jacuzzi tub is large, with plenty of room for two, but not as powerful as I would have liked. The bed is firm, yet comfortable. The kitchenette is adequately equipped for a simple meal, however, the very small size of the sink makes it hard to wash the pots and pans. Overall, a pleasant stay -- pleasant enough that we booked a return visit while checking out.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmcityfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2008

This is just to say "Thank you" to Dale Winstead for the lovely stay at his B&B, we couldn't have asked for more. The location is peaceful, the room was delightful and our breakfast was excellent. I've known members of his family for years, but had never visited the Inn. We appreciate the rest & relaxation that your Inn provided, thanks so much!

  • Liked — Quiet location, lovely room, really comfortable bedding.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrunner93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
3.4 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
179 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
369 reviews
5.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Maria's Garden and Inn
Maria's Garden and Inn
#10 of 11 in Berkeley Springs
42 reviews
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
338 reviews
11.4 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn

Property: Sleepy Creek Mountain Inn
Address: 877 Winstead Road, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-3827
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing