We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nice weekend getaway"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Nice weekend getaway"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had a very nice, relaxing weekend at The Country Inn. The only drawback is that it isn't totally "quaint" because it's situated right on Main St. with continual traffic passing by. We stayed in the back building which was ok, but you have a short walk to the other building where the main lobby is. We did the Roman Bath and massage afterwards. Be forwarned: the people doing massages for the state park are not certified massage therapists. It was the WORST massage, (if you can even call if that) I ever had. You might consider The Renaissance Spa in the hotel instead. 10 miles south is Cacapon State Park. It's very pretty, has alot of amenities, and is worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Diane,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. Your comments help in providing a better overall experience for all of our future guests. We hope you are able to stay with us again and visit our 3 Level Renaissance Spa. I think you will enjoy it, and hope you are able to come back soon.

Thank you,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
(304) 258-1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    66
    26
    6
    1
See reviews for
28
81
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We ended up in Berkley Springs due to an illness of a traveling companion. We found the Country Inn and the staff was very helpful in setting up reservations at the last minute and helping us settle our friend. We had a great dinner in a wonderful atmosphere, and the rooms were charming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Marty,

I'm sorry your stop in Berkeley Springs was due to illness, but we are very happy we were able to assist you and your traveling companions. I thank you for the feedback and hope you are able to visit Berkeley Springs again on better terms. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
(304) 258-1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband and I have been to Berkeley Springs before, but this time we opted to stay near downtown. The front desk clerks were welcoming. The room was clean and spacious. We had a couples massage at the spa, and it was very relaxing--perfect to celebrate our anniversary! Also, you cannot beat the location staying here. It was close to the antique shops and walking distance to good restaurants. Will stay again.

Room Tip: If you want a unique room, be sure to book in the Historic Inn. The front desk also told us we can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghPenguins87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are excited that you stayed with us for your anniversary and glad you had such a wonderful time. We appreciate your feedback, and hope you are able to visit again soon. Thank you again!

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
(304) 258-1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

As it was my first visit to Berkeley Springs, I chose The Country Inn for it's location. I was not aware that there was a "back" section of this hotel which was NOT quaint or charming. It was clean, the room was large, the bathroom very small but adequate. The biggest complaint that I had was the sheets. They were scratchy! After reading other comments, I might stay again, but request a room in the main hotel - that seems to be the better option.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Judith,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We will use this feedback to provide a better customer experience for all of our guests. Cleanliness and Service are high goals of ours and I'm glad you experienced a high level of satisfaction in those areas. Our sheets are Ashby Premier with a high quality thread count. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again as a guest, and I would recommend that you stay in our Historic Inn if you are interested in a more upgraded room. The West Inn accommodations are our Standard Double Queen rooms which maintain our same high level of cleanliness, however it is a standard room with two queen beds and a full bath. Many guests enjoy those rooms, and they are a popular room choice. If you have any questions or we can be of assistance, please give us a call.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
(304) 258-1200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked a Queen Deluxe Suite for $199 which came to $218 with taxes. The website was very deceiving to say the least. The inn itself was gorgeous upon arrival. Check in was great. The inn was located next to the state park which held a wonderful concert in the evening. Our room was terrible. This is what we got: a suite with a sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. The queen bed mattress was hard and uncomfortable and the bed squeaked every time you moved. Air conditioning was an old window unit loud as hell that did not work well and you sweated like a pig in the sitting room. Our TV was from the 80's. Wallpaper was peeling back in all 3 rooms. No outlets in the bathroom however you were provided with a hair dryer. Tile in the bathroom in bad need of repair and some moldy spots. In the early morning hours my husband went to use the bathroom and found a 2 inch cockroach crawling on the tub. He killed it. GROSS. Also the ceiling leaked in the sitting room from someone taking a shower above us. This was totally unacceptable. We complained and were offered $20 off our rate. That was an insult to say the least. So we paid for a nice room that was unacceptable, unsanitary and was unable to even take a shower. I have never had such bad service ever. Ruined my birthday and entire trip. I probably will never go back to Berkeley Springs.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Donna,

Thank you for providing your feedback that will assist us in delivering a superior customer experience for all of our guests. I do apologize that your birthday trip was not all that you had hoped for. The guests in the room above your room did overflow their tub which resulted in a leak in your sitting area. Once the water was cleaned up the drip did subside approx.. 30 minutes later. Your guest room is rented frequently by other guests, and your comments differ greatly from other guests who have enjoyed that Queen Suite. Our property is treated regularly for pests and am surprised to hear you found an insect in the bathtub. Also, there is no mold in the guest room or bathroom. Lastly, there is a bathroom outlet near the vanity light. Our team has inspected the Air Conditioning units, and the bed frame to ensure proper functionality. Our team prides itself on superior cleaning standards and that is well proven through other guest reviews and guest feedback. I am truly sorry that your weekend was not pleasant.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I first stayed at the Country Inn in 1984. I have been back several times. I was last there the weekend of July 18th. It's getting a long in the tooth, and I did not care for the changes in the restaurant. However, it is still charming, and the town is so quaint. So I will continue to go back. But please, don't brew your coffee from the tap in the men's room, even if it is spring water from the spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Dominic,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your latest stay. Since opening The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 8 months ago, we have accomplished quite a transformation at the property and will continue to upgrade the property to provide a sensational guest experience. I'm sorry that you did not see the improvements, but the vast majority of our guests have and are thrilled at what we have accomplished in just 8 short months. I see that you stayed in our West Inn which offers our standard double queen rooms. If you or any future guests are looking for more of an upgraded room, I would recommend choosing a room in the Historic Inn upon your next visit. Thank you again for your feedback as it is appreciated and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location, beside the State Park. It is the perfect spot for a romantic getaway. The room was large & clean, but there needs to be some upgrades made to this property. The door jamb on the floor between the bathroom and the bedroom is obviously leftover from when there was carpeting. It sticks up about an inch, and I can't say how many times we both stubbed our toes, especially at night. The toilet hinges are coated to look like metal, and are all peeling, making that plastic feel like a thousand tiny needles stabbing you in the butt. At night, there is a LOT of light in the room, including a two inch gap under the door to the hallway, letting in all the hallway light. We had a king room, and the bed and pillows were VERY comfortable. Some hotel pillows are horrid, and these were not.
We did use the spa services, and would highly recommend the Romance Package.
We did not eat at the restaurant (though now we wish we had).
The Tavern on property was a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day, but it closes at 10 on a weekday.
The staff is fantastic and extremely friendly and helpful
The lobby does have a very musty odor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and are very glad we were there, not the back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATravelingGal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt O, General Manager at The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are excited to hear the Romantic Getaway package suited you well. I do appreciate your feedback regarding some room items that may need attention and we will certainly view those items. Thank you again for providing your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Matt Omps
General Manager
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
9.6 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
Comfort Inn Aikens Center
#4 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
18.0 mi away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
24.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
Homewood Suites Hagerstown
#3 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs

Property: The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
Address: 110 S Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV 25411-1577
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Berkeley Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Country Inn! We are located in the Eastern Panhandle of West Virginia in beautiful Berkeley Springs, our nation's first spa. We have 70 unique rooms, English country gardens, an exclusive cottage and retreat center, gift shop, Gallery Room, Conference Room, and Parkview Restaurant & Tavern. The Country Inn was originally opened in 1933, by the local Harmison family as the Park View Inn and has been open year round ever since. Our inn possesses both bucolic charms with modern amenities. We are perfectly located in the heart of Berkeley Springs. Our town is known for its warm springs, art, antiques, and beautiful scenery. Whether you are here to take in the waters at the historic state park next door, the Renaissance Spa, or visiting our quaint shops you will be within walking distance while staying at the Country Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing