We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing, historic getaway in an excellent...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View
Living Room Eastern exposure
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front View
Living Room
Eastern exposure
Western exposure
Rear deck and entrance
Sitting room
Our Mascot Tom
Dining area in keeping room
King bedroom
Keeping room
Twin bedroom
King bedroom
Whirlpool room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terry K
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, historic getaway in an excellent location; in a word - perfect.”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What a treasure! What an amazing 4 days - so quiet and peaceful - like taking a step back in time. The cabin is a great value and the customer care was first-class. The owners are fantastic - it seems there is nothing they haven't thought of to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. The history and realism achieved adds so much to the experience - we feel so fortunate to have been able to experience what this couple has worked very hard to make possible.

The location is outstanding - 5 minutes from Cacapon State Resort Park and a short distance from historic Berkeley Springs. Within minutes of leaving the cabin we were horseback riding, trap shooting, hiking, swimming and playing golf and tennis at Cacapon. Great restaurants, art, and antique shopping in and around Berkeley Springs, not to mention Berkeley Springs State Park. The abundant wildlife around the cabin and throughout the area and added so much to the experience. Relaxing in the hammock together in such a quiet, peaceful and beautiful setting was worth so much in itself.

The charming and beautiful cabin has amazing character; it was well-supplied and furnished and the decor was amazing. The Wi-Fi works flawlessly. So much history - the cabin and it's furnishing was an education in itself. We will be coming back for a longer stay to enjoy more of the area.

Our trip and stay at the cabin was absolutely PERFECT. Thank you Sylvia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 18, 2015
My husband and I are thrilled that you had a wonderful time at the cabin and especially delighted that you appreciated our efforts to make the cabin comfortable as well as historically authentic. We are also pleased that you were able to enjoy all the amenities that our area has to offer. Our goal is to have our guests have the time of their lives while here and long to return when they must leave. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future. Every season has its own story to tell.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim D
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW! This was a great property!!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this for my wife's birthday. The plan was a nice quiet secluded cabin that was in the woods. My 12 year old daughter was with us as well. The owners picked some sunflowers to have in the cabin for my wife. The cabin itself was amazing with lots of antiques and very traditional looking but with some modern amenities (A/C, modern appliances, etc.). We had a great time and it was so very quiet. During our stay we saw wild turkeys, deer and eagles on the property. We are already looking forward to our next stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet
Liked least: Nothing it was exactly as we expected it to be.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you, Jim, for your review. I am so happy that the week-end was a successful celebration of your wife's birthday. You and your family are an example of how we should treasure our loved ones. I hope you will return to us some day in the future.
Sylvia Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M3226MKda...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cabin in beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at Gobbler's Knob. The cabin is perfect for a relaxing weekend. We spent hours on the porch hanging out and catching up. There are also plenty of lakes and streams nearby for fixing and trails for hiking.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you, David, for taking your time to write a review for the cabin. Hope you will all come back again soon. Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Maryland
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history behind the cabin was fantastic. We felt like we had gone back in time.
Liked least: I loved every.single.thing. Period.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for choosing The Historic Cabin at Gobblers' Knob to celebrate your husband's birthday. It was a joy to watch the excitement around the preparations and your husband's joy at having a week-end off without chores. I hope you and your family will come to this special spot up the mountain and back in time again soon. Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a comfortable place to stay, without having to do much upkeep ourselves, but still with privacy
Liked least: The kitchen is small but functional - we were happy to eat out at some of the incredible local restaurants
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your visit to our beloved cabin. So happy you chose this special setting for your birthday celebration. Hope you will return if for nothing else but just to celebrate life.
Sylvia Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adam M
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Secluded Cabin You Are Looking For”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I’ve rented several cabins in Berkeley Springs, and this is my new favorite. Gobblers' Knob is rich with charm and character—and its massive hearth is a sight to behold. The lovely couple that own the cabin have done an expert job appointing the home—balancing period furnishings with modern necessities (wi-fi, whirlpool bath). We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for writing a review for our beloved cabin. What an honor to be judged your favorite of all the cabins you have rented in our area. So very happy to receive such a compliment.
Sylvia Thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K G
Potomac Falls, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Romantic Fall Getaway”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Gobbler's Knob for our anniversary in October and found a place so warm, charming and romantic we want to return again and again. Sylvia could not have been any easier to deal with and she even placed a lovely bottle of wine in the fridge for us to to enjoy for our anniversary. This property takes you away from all the stresses and frantic activity of daily life and allows you to take the time to rediscover each other, rediscover the simple beauty of walking hand in hand across a field and really connect with one another again. To sit in front of a cozy fire, to completely relax while enjoying the beauty of the mountains and meadows from their porch swing is remarkable. Then to watch the stars at night and know you will drift off to sleep so peacefully in a beautiful historic home, aaahh, these are memories we cherish and want to re-create again and again. Thank you so very much for our very treasured time at Gobbler's Knob. The Gordon's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The historic property and the beauty, privacy and peace it affords its visitors.
Liked least: That our stay wasn't a bit longer.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for writing a review of our cabin. The cabin is the site of many celebrations; anniversary celebrations are so special. We are honored that you chose us.
Sylvia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing