We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Service, good beer, ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountaineer's Sports Bar & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mountaineer's Sports Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Slow Service, good beer, ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went around noon to watch college football, hang out, have a few beers, and eat lunch. There was only one server and one cook there to cover bartending, food orders, and cooking. It took about an hour to get our food, and drink service was REALLY slow. The burgers were pretty good, but the fries were pretty bland and a little overcooked. They have a decent selection of beers on tap and bottled. There are several large flatscreen TVs around the bar, which was nice since we were watching two different games. Overall, the place wasn't too bad, just don't go there if you're in any kind of a hurry to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly little bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived in town on a Saturday afternoon. Hubby wanted a beer and a bite to eat so we stopped in at Mountaineer Sports Bar and Grill. We ordered a small pizza. Our waitress was also the owner, since it was mid-afternoon and the place was pretty empty. They had their Halloween party the night before and the DJ was there, carrying out his equipment. When we told the waitress that we weren't ordering much since we had dinner reservations later, she called over a young lady who was with the DJ and said she waitresses at the restaurant we were going to later. The young lady remembered us and made sure we were seated at her table later than evening. Anyway, back to the Mountaineer's Bar and Grill, service was fine and the pizza was hot and good. No complaints.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank beekay119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“NOT QUALITY IN ANY WAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

FIrst time there, went for Saturday afternoon, got seated. One lady on duty and it is supposed to be a sports bar, after waiting for 20 minutes to give an order, requested appetizer. Never did receive it, after waiting for 45 minutes just got up and left. Waitress didn't even know, other customers left because of never getting service at all. Can't comment on food, never got to try it, but obviously this restaurant is not interested in customers in any way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trust me....if you want edible food, you will not get it here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I am serious...do not eat here if you want to get good drinks or food. I was there this past Sunday and it was just awful!!!! The food is terrible...broccoli soup was seriously hot water and cheese powder...they burnt the turkey in the sandwich...WHO GRILLS TURKEY LUNCH MEAT FOR A SANDWICH?!? All it was was burnt turkey and bread...no lettuce, mayo..nothing! Fries will about kill you because of how salty they are...mozzarella sticks were so burnt there was no cheese left inside..had to send those back! My mimosa was made with a tang-like drink..no OJ...service was super slow (I actually felt bad for the waitress because it wasn't her fault...she needed some serious help. To top it all off...the bartender blamed everything on that poor waitress, overcharged us for a beer and still made us pay for that inedible soup and sandwich!!! How disappointing this place was!! I can't believe people actually are giving good reviews!! I will NEVER be back and I only hope that you will learn something from this review and will not have your next customers have to go through what we did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch With Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Took the kids here for lunch and they loved it. We got the cheese steak which was great and the fries are good also. Kids loved being able to watch sponge bob on the t.v. They want to go back again for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WV71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountaineer's Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Mountaineer's Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing