We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PARK”
Review of Cacapon State Park

Cacapon State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT PARK”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice grounds, lodging excellent for state park, food was very good. There is plenty to do and the upkeep is excellent, clean. Staff is helpful and acommodating, especially the staff in the restaurant. Would highly recommend and Berkley Springs is only 10 miles from park and interesting to visit too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoamingMaryland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    69
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Visit to Capacon State Park”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We came in off season so weren't able to enjoy the lake for swimming, but we hiked one of the trails (Ridge Trail), ate in the lodge restaurant, and played a round of golf. The park is very clean, well maintained, and the park personnel were very friendly and helpful. Looks like a great place for a summer vacation, especially with family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Quaint State Park for its size”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Compared with other state parks this is small but still very nice. Recommend the wobble clay shoot which was a lot of fun and quite relaxing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brummy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Golf in the panhandle”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Needed to get away and only had time for a quick day trip. I had heard the course here was beautiful, and was blown away by the amazing views. This was my first time playing a golf course in a state park, and I will definitely be returning. The park itself has all the amenities an outdoorsy traveler would want and is close enough to several cities to appeal to those who need civilization nearby but want the peace and quiet of being out in the country. I would stick to the warmer months though, The winding and narrow roads looked like they might be an issue in icy or snowy weather.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelin_T-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pretty place”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in a modern cabin which was very nice. Being able to cook all our own meals made it more affordable. It was a bit too cold for swimming but we hiked, tried the paddle boating and the shooting. The shooting was really fun with a great instructor. The hiking was pretty, especially along the ridge above the park.

Some of our friends stayed in the north fork cabins. They were very scenic and private but they had some problems with mice and the kitchen was not as nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EBWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacapon State Park also viewed

 

Been to Cacapon State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing