We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No such place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coolfont Spa and Wellness Center

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Coolfont Spa and Wellness Center
Attraction details
Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No such place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

There is no Coolfont Spa as far as I know. The picture shown is of the Country Inn which has recently has new ownership after being closed for several months. The new Country Inn will be opening in early November as will the spas. Will have a wait-and-see attitude to see what becomes of the Inn with the new ownership.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
16 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    0
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clear Spring
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pioneer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This place began the rebirth of Berkeley Springs as a retreat, and get-away. The ideals and views of personal wellness and awareness begun continue on 'til this day through the rest of the town. Thank you so much Sam.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank localworker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fond memories of a great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Sam found the property that became Coolfont while hiking with his son. Sam worked in my federal agency at the time, but quit upon getting his Coolfont construction plans funded. I visited him there when the only structure on the property was the old house with the creek running through it, which was his headquarters until he retired in his 90s. It was my favorite vacation spot during all those years -- the food and ambiance were great, and Sam had local or nearby musicians - classical or jazz - every weekend. The organization that purchased it from him said they would have a luxury resort on the property within a year. Whatever happened to them, and to the property? Was it divided into parcels? (Sam sold several 7-acre parcels for second homes, and also recruited government conferences, in order to continue funding his construction.) Further information would be most welcome.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
15 Thank Amtak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“When it was... it was the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

It broke my heart to see it gone.We went every year, at least once but usually more. It was the constant in our crazy lives. I miss it and Sam. Thank you for all the happy memories for our family

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
14 Thank deb_worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coolfont Spa and Wellness Center also viewed

 

Been to Coolfont Spa and Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing