We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, good drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambrae House

Ambrae House
98 N. Washington Street, Berkeley Springs, WV
304-258-2333
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Had an AMAZING dining experience last night at The Ambrae House, a new B&B in Berkeley Springs, W.V. Starting with the open air patio to the up-scale friendly beer and wine bar to the quaint restaurant, the ambiance of the establishment is a 10! And then there is the food, if the ambiance is a 10, the food is a 12! The Maryland Crab Chowder is a must; the Maryland Crab Cakes are full of crab, and any filler is sparse, the best we have ever had! This will be a weekly date night for us.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, good drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We ate lunch here. The panini I had was really good. Everything was cooked to order. We like the staff and the atmosphere so much that we came back later in the day for drinks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Nebo, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Up Scale Establishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent atmosphere and cuisine A little gem in rural West Virginia. Located in old downtown, close to antique shops and spa. Have to try their grilled Ruben sandwich.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlingshotGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great OURDOOR Seating and Live Music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Everything always taste better outdoors, The beer was cold and the food was hot.

John the solo troubadour knew every song we could muster and throw at him, he was
outstanding on a rain soaked evening and we all enjoyed his music & humor.
Great way to top off the day with an evening at the bar and great fellow travlers,
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan1597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, casual restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

During my stay at Berkeley Springs, I went to Ambrae House because they had outdoor seating and a band playing. It seemed like a fun place to eat dinner. Although the atmosphere was fun and casual, the food was pretty average. We ordered oysters (maybe that should have been a hint. Who eats oysters in West Virginia!?!) and it was the worst oysters I ever had! It tasted as if they were dipped in chlorine to be cleaned. My sandwich with a side of fries was nothing memorable. So although the atmosphere was fun with the music, the food was nothing to rave about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laila080808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yummy Lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had lunch at the Ambrae house, and it was fantastic. My burger was really juicy and well seasoned. The fries were crispy and delicious. My husband had a grilled chicken sandwich which was also juicy and delicious. Great food and great prices!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank B_family_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrae House also viewed

 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing