We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasons why we love the Ambrae House....”
Review of Ambrae House - CLOSED

Ambrae House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Had an AMAZING dining experience last night at The Ambrae House, a new B&B in Berkeley Springs, W.V. Starting with the open air patio to the up-scale friendly beer and wine bar to the quaint restaurant, the ambiance of the establishment is a 10! And then there is the food, if the ambiance is a 10, the food is a 12! The Maryland Crab Chowder is a must; the Maryland Crab Cakes are full of crab, and any filler is sparse, the best we have ever had! This will be a weekly date night for us.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Reasons why we love the Ambrae House....”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

1. Food and service were terrific, they treated us like the royalty we wish we were! 2.Gary and Lisa were kind and accommodating, made sure we had an awesome birthday dinner (even in the middle of busy Apple Butter Festival!) 3. Lisa mixes a mean drink, whatever your pleasure, Gary knows his way around a steak. 4. Casey was a bubbly and attentive server 5. Love the deck bar and the sand between your toes...6. They lent us an umbrella to protect us from the elements:D 7. They always make us feel welcome when we are in town, and that's just a tiny list of reasons why we always come back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dthiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    43
    21
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant dining near the hot springs.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Ambrae House is a nice place to sit and dine.We ate our lunch on the outdoor deck.The nice thing was that the deck was hidden from the street by hedges,which gave privacy and shut out most noise from the street.I had their huge crabcake and my wife had a salad with chicken.The food portions were big and the food was good.When we go back to Berkeley Springs we will be sure to dine there again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surrfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PITTSBURGH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worse service ever.”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Sat down for a drink and snack. Waitress asked what we wanted, came back 5minutes later and asked what we wanted! AGAIN! Didn't know what beer she had. She took our order then we watched thru window while she was at the bar doing something for 5 minutes. Wasn't getting our drinks! We walked out. It wasn't even crowed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Creative, Above-Average Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I enjoyed our lunch at the Ambrae House Restaurant. We arrived a few minutes prior to opening, but were invited in, seated, and promptly met by our server. We found options for every palate, including vegetarians. For an appetizer, we enjoyed the Bhang Bhang shrimp with fried spinach on the side. Both certainly lived up to their hype. The shrimp were appropriately spicy and the spinach was delicate and delicious. A couple of us had the Magothy crab cake sandwich for lunch which was made mostly of crab and had little filling--a nice surprise. A generous fish taco was also delicious as was the portabella mushroom cap sandwich. No one left hungry.

I did not give the restaurant an "Excellent" rating for two reasons: the service was not stellar--our waitperson neglected to tell us what the day's specials were and didn't know what the soup of the day was, although she did find out; second, the children's menu is limited to grilled cheese and chicken fingers--not much of a selection and very run-of-the-mill. On the whole, the restaurant is worth a visit for lunch.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what you get is not what you order”
Reviewed July 1, 2011

pesto was mayo, panini was a fried hard tortilla, small chicken pieces inside.........not worth the price, for sure.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank wmshopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambrae House also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing