We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful surprise”
Review of Ambrae House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambrae House
Turnersville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ambrae House sits in the heart of the town of Berkeley Springs. We stayed in the Champagne Room. The room was decorated very nicely. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever been in. The jacuzzi tub was so nice, we wrote the name of the manufacturer down so we could purchase one for home. The breakfasts were really good. We also ate there for dinner once enjoyed the staff and the atmosphere. My only negative was that we arrived on a Thursday night when the actual bed and breakfast was closed. So no breakfast for us on Friday morning. I would have thought the rate would have been discounted or a continental provided. We were told what area places were open for breakfast. In addition, rooms were not cleaned daily. I originally thought that because the inn was closed there was no maid service. But we stayed 3 nights over a weekend, and the room was not cleaned or beds made. I'm not high maintenance, but I thought it unusual. However, all in all, that was a small thing. Everything else made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpooch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My friend and I found Ambrae House at random when looking for somewhere to meet for a long weekend between Richmond, VA and Pittsburgh, PA. The location, the staff, and the facility are so amazing that we didn't want to leave. We stayed in the Burgundy Room, which was extremely spacious with a lovely sitting area and large TV. The en suite bathroom was stunning with comfy robes and fluffy towels. The bed was beyond comfortable. It is obvious Lisa poured her heart and soul into renovating the building and creating the B&B.

The location of the Ambrae House is in the heart of Berkeley Springs so we were able to walk every where. The owners do not live on premise but were readily available at all times. Lisa is an amazing hostess and was always checking on us and Gary never forgot our drink or breakfast order. The staff in the restaurant was top notch - friendly and efficient without being over bearing. By the end of the weekend, everyone felt like old friends.

The restaurant and bar served delicious food and beverages. We had 6 or 7 carafes of the red sangria over the course of the weekend as well as tried several appetizers and entrees. The prices were extremely reasonable.

Because the B&B is also a restaurant and bar and is located right on Washington Street, it can be a little loud but the restaurant and bar close at 10 and the staff always finished up pretty quickly. The truck traffic through town could easily wake up a light sleeper.

Would highly recommend both the B&B and the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebsbluiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
517 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We always wanted to spend the weekend in Berkeley Springs as we had made it just a day trip many times. In our constant search for a great B&B, we found Ambrae House and thought we would give it a try. We are so glad we did. First, Lisa is a wonderful host and the suite (we stayed in the Chablis) had everything we are looking for in a room. Large space, windows for light, sofa, sitting area, nice vanity, ceiling fan, large closet, flat screen TV, comfy bed and linens, big bath area and a large bubbler tub that resembles a claw foot. There was a separate area with a fridge with water for the guest. The convenience of the suite being over the restaurant and bar was amazing. Breakfast was served between 9 & 10am and we got to choose how we wanted it (wonderful). We lunched and snacked in the restaurant which is staffed by a great group of servers. The location of the B&B is great because we could walk to everything we planned to do. We have been to a ton of B&Bs in the last few years and this is one of our top 5. Thanks to Lisa and her staff for making our weekend great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've stayed her 2 times and each time has been wonderful. Lisa and Gary are such nice hosts, I always feel very welcome and comfortable. The food is always stellar and suites are so charming. I visit Berkeley Springs every year and since discovering the Ambrae house last year, it's the only place I'll stay!

Room Tip: Champagne suite (top floor) is my favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingyogini523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

While we didn't stay at Ambrea House B&B we did have wine & appetizers at their wine bar. We found the service to be attentive and friendly and the food and wine prices were reasonable.

While I'm sorry to do such a limited review I can happily recommend Ambrae House as a nice spot for a drink and bite to eat. The crowd in the wine bar seemed to be a mix of tourists and locals (with perhaps more locals than tourists which is usually a good sign) The staff was friendly, helpful and seemed to genuinely enjoywhat they were doing.

We look forward to having dinner here in the near future and staying a weekend in their B&B.

My guess is that if you are the sort of traveller that wants to stay in a museum-like B&B that is library quiet at your 9pm bed time then this place won't be for you. It's on the main street in town which gets a surprising amount of truck traffic and there is a restaurant and bar downstairs; it's bound to be too busy for some. If you're looking for peace and quiet you're better off lodging a few blocks off Washington Street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gfc62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I spend most weekends in Berkeley Springs at a cabin and I don't cook. Ambrae house is a go-to for me most weekends. Gary and his staff are always friendly and the food never lets me down. I especially enjoy summers at the Ambrae when the outdoor space is open and they have local artists perform music (and sometimes belly dancing). If you go, make sure to try the bang bang shrip. It's amazing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stopped by for a cold refreshment before dinner due to the heat and fact that we had our 2 little dogs with us. We were welcomed onto the porch and a fan was brought out for the "4" of us along with a bowl of water for our furry friends. The cold beverage was just what we needed and welcomed respite from the weather. We were just so pleased by the treatment. We ended up having a snack of oysters and fried spinach. Just perfect!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evasoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley Springs
0.2 mi away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
9.8 mi away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Berkeley Springs Inn
Best Western Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 4 in Berkeley Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Hancock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Hancock MD
Super 8 Hancock MD
#1 of 2 in Hancock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrae House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrae House

Property: Ambrae House
Address: 98 N Washington St, Berkeley Springs, WV
Location: United States > West Virginia > Berkeley Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley Springs
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing