We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fatanstic Local Oragnic Food and Great View!”
Review of Panorama at the Peak - CLOSED

Panorama at the Peak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Panorama at the Peak is made unique by our dedication to amazing local, organic New Appalachian cuisine on Capacon Mountain with views unlike any other! We're a restaurant with a knockout view that's completely dedicated to the tradition of good, whole food. We work within our regional food systems and most of the farms that grow and supply our food are within a 65-mile radius of Panorama at the Peak. To us, it's simple - the fresher the food, the better it tastes! When we can't get it local, we buy USA organic. And if we can't get it local or organic? We don't serve it. Each item on our menu is made from whole, not processed, food and we know each ingredient by heart. Whether you're vegan, gluten-free, or allergic to certain foods, we can cheerfully accommodate you! Our menu is always changing, a reflection of what is freshest each day. Guest favorites include our signature Dad's Perfect Rueben, Pan Fried Trout, and crisp Kale Salad! It's Panorama's commitment to innovative cuisine that has awarded us a place on WV Executive's 15 favorite restaurants in the state and Slow Food DC's Snail of Approval. Of course, none of this would be possible without a thoughtful staff that is dedicated to fantastic service and an unforgettable experience for each guest. Call today to make your reservation to enjoy a wonderful meal made from local, organic ingredients and accompanied by unbelievable views of the iconic Overlook in Berkeley Springs, West Virginia!
White Mountains, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fatanstic Local Oragnic Food and Great View!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

They have the freshest, local organic food around! The waiter actually stepped out back to the garden for the mint leaves for our Mojitos! They also cater to vegetarians and gluten free dieters! The restaurant is directly across from the overlook and it's best to park at the overlook and walk across the street - there are plenty of table right against the windows to enjoy the view and the back wall is covered in eclectic mirrors. They also a great bar in the building and you absolutely cannot beat the food!! If you can about organic and local food this place is mecca!! If you just care about really good tasting food you also cannot beat this place! A little pricey as you would expect but well worth it for what you're getting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panorama_at_the_Peak, Owner at Panorama at the Peak, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you Jessica!
Most importantly, we're so happy you enjoyed yourselves and your fresh mint! lol.

We know that your time is valuable.
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for Trip Advisor.

I'll give Russell an extra pat on the back for that one!
We appreciate your support!

Be Well and Eat Good Food,
patti

Leslie Hotaling & Patti Miller
Panorama at the Peak – Farm Fresh Dining with a View
Historic Berkeley Springs, WV 25411
304.258.0050
www.PanoramaAtThePeak.com

“Eat Fresh! Eat Local! Eat Organic!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    57
    17
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food keeps getting better with every visit.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we often go to the Panorama at the Peak for dinner or brunch. each time we are pleasantly surprised how it is so much better than the time before. we love that they support local fresh organic food. i would recommend almost everything on the menu. There is only a few things i have not tried yet. and always save room for dessert. The cheesecake is awesome, as is the creme brulee. those 2 are my favorites,but i am not going to turn down any of their desserts. staff is always friendly and courteous and knows what they are serving!!!. Thanks again for always meeting our expectations.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful review!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We drove up to the peak to check out the view and decided to eat brunch here. We had lamb meatballs as an appetizer, wow were they delicious!!!! We both decided breakfast was in order after so I ordered the amaretto nut crusted french toast and my husband ordered the scrambled eggs with potatoes and fruit filled crepes. Both of our breakfasts were amazing! The french toast was almost dessert like, and a healthy portion. I tasted my husbands scrambled eggs, I have to say they were the best either of us had ever had! I would highly recommend this restaurant! The views are beautiful, the building is old but very neat inside and it's worth every penny. The down side is they are only open Thursday through Sunday!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinMexico7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice in theory, poor in practice”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Maybe I'm just a spoiled city kid and in WV this is fine dining, but the quality of the food and the price really were way off.

Yes the view is great, service is good, the location unique and the organic locally sourced food is admirable. But at the end of the day restaurants stand on the flavor of their food. Sadly my steak was bland and the accompanying vegetables were either under or over-cooked.

I would recommend this place for a bottle of wine and a dessert for a romantic evening. If you're looking for quality dinner, I'd have to say keep driving. For these prices you can certainly do better.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to Panorama at the Peak for dinner on a Thursday night. It was our first time there and they seated us next to the window so we could see the beautiful view of the mountains. Even though there was a large group that had come in just before us, our orders came from the kitchen in a very timely manner. I had the trout and my husband had the crab cakes. Both were deliciously prepared and the amount of food was perfect! We also enjoyed knowing that the foods were completely prepared on premises and it was clear that the staff enjoyed ensuring that we were completely happy with our experience. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panorama at the Peak also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing