We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Breakfast:)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earth Dog Cafe

Earth Dog Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have only had breakfast here (I hear they have great bbq though!) great pancakes, eggs and fresh coffee! The waitress always remembers us even though we don't eat here often which is nice:) The food is always good and the service is always fast, the food is often from local farms which is great! Try it! Fun atmosphere...very laid back and you will get a pancake the size of you head for a couple bucks!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    92
    41
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burgers-Laidback Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 3 days in Berkeley Springs last week and ate at Earth Dog on Thursday evening. There were only a few other tables in the whole restaurant, and we were told to sit where ever we wanted. We chose to sit in a dimly lit corner up near the main bar. We enjoyed looking all the unique artwork and decor-kind of a mishmash of styles. Our waitress was super friendly and attentive-she even brought us a pitcher of Coke as we were both drinking it. We both got burgers, which were phenomenal. The potato salad was "ok." I've had better. The fries were good too. If you are looking for upscale dining, this isn't it, but if you are looking for a laid back place to relax and have a beer and a good burger, check it out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mama12221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lot's of local color....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Interesting menu and it was the antithesis of a chain restaurant. Decorations and settings were unique and fun. We ate breakfast there and it was a very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ralph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun food in Berkeley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We come to Berkely two or three times a year and always have at least one breakfast and one dinner at the Dog. Most recently, I had the double combo of ribs and pulled pork with a side of bake beans and cold slaw. The pork is delicious with a topping of barbeque sauce. The ribs were okay, if a little dry. Keep in mind, I think they cook these fresh each day out front.

The sides were delicious.

My wife had a tuna steak salad and commented on the delightful corn relish. Her dish came with two tuna steaks so it was more than enough.

Breakfast is always good.

Minor complaint, the place is a bit dirty, as others have commented. The back bathroom in the main restaurant is usually quite a mess.

Overall, you should not be disappointed if you want a barbeque-centric menu.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Killingtime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food but Not so Clean Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have to start out by saying that I live in Berkeley Springs and I have enjoyed the Earth Dog Cafe the few times I have been there. They have great home cooked food and sometimes nice staff. I do have to mention however that this is not the nicest nor cleanest restaurant I have ever been to and there is rarely someone at the front to seat you right away. If they would work on cleaning the place up and getting some nicer staff this would be one of the best little eateries in Berkeley Springs.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Dog Cafe also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 
Berkeley Springs, WV
Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Earth Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing