We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhh the Roman bath”

Berkeley Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park's natural spring is used for mineral baths and other therapeutic treatments.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh the Roman bath”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

THE SPRINGS are awesome. Wonderful Roman bath followed by relaxing ( could have used a little more pressure) massage. Fabulous and good value!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueFalconRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    155
    39
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A real gem in the middle of downtown Berkeley Springs”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This park is wonderful, and the Roman Bath/Massage/Shower package is a great value. If you don't "take the waters" while in the area, you're really missing out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ks21620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Nice Warm Springs”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Came with my parents to take the waters at Berkeley Springs. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we opted to have the roman bath plus the 60 minute massage. The bath was hands-down my favorite part of the experience. I was floating along in my private bath for 15 minutes which was so relaxing. Water was warm rather than hot like you get at the Blue Lagoon in Iceland.

The 60 minute massage that followed as very very gentle and relaxing. I generally prefer deep tissue work and that certainly wasn't what they provide here. If you are looking for deep work or want to have them really dig in, I recommend you skip the massage.

But you can't beat the price for the massage and bath (around $80 during the week).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Really hot springs!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We'd been wanting to 'take the waters' at Berkeley Springs for awhile, so we made it a girls afternoon out, and 6 of us rented one of the old Roman baths at the state park. We just wanted the basic spring experience, no massages or saunas, and that's what we got! We rented the tub for a half hour, thinking it might be too short, but after about 20 minutes, we were all done - hard boiled! This is a bare bones experience if you use the old baths, no changing rooms, one bathroom for the entire building, a complimentary pitcher of cold water. The water was way too hot when we started so we had to add cold through a pipe...it had a very healthy 'robust' feeling rather than one of pampering, but was a blast!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love this park”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

In the middle of town, what a wonderful park. Swimming pool, mineral springs bath, picnicking. Great atmosphere. I would go back here anytime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tipijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Springs State Park also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Berkeley Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing