We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Warm Springs”

Berkeley Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park's natural spring is used for mineral baths and other therapeutic treatments.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Nice Warm Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Came with my parents to take the waters at Berkeley Springs. After reading the Trip Advisor reviews, we opted to have the roman bath plus the 60 minute massage. The bath was hands-down my favorite part of the experience. I was floating along in my private bath for 15 minutes which was so relaxing. Water was warm rather than hot like you get at the Blue Lagoon in Iceland.

The 60 minute massage that followed as very very gentle and relaxing. I generally prefer deep tissue work and that certainly wasn't what they provide here. If you are looking for deep work or want to have them really dig in, I recommend you skip the massage.

But you can't beat the price for the massage and bath (around $80 during the week).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    151
    34
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really hot springs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We'd been wanting to 'take the waters' at Berkeley Springs for awhile, so we made it a girls afternoon out, and 6 of us rented one of the old Roman baths at the state park. We just wanted the basic spring experience, no massages or saunas, and that's what we got! We rented the tub for a half hour, thinking it might be too short, but after about 20 minutes, we were all done - hard boiled! This is a bare bones experience if you use the old baths, no changing rooms, one bathroom for the entire building, a complimentary pitcher of cold water. The water was way too hot when we started so we had to add cold through a pipe...it had a very healthy 'robust' feeling rather than one of pampering, but was a blast!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Level Contributor
221 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Love this park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

In the middle of town, what a wonderful park. Swimming pool, mineral springs bath, picnicking. Great atmosphere. I would go back here anytime.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tipijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
335 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Do the Spa Treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

You will come away feeling like a new person, reasonably priced. Walk around the grounds they are quaint. You can see George Washington's bathtub and fill your water jugs up with this tasty water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank esopus35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksley, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Go bath in time....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

As part of a "girlfriend" getaway weekend, I made reservations for the three of us at the Roman Baths at the Berkeley Springs Park right in the middle of town. We couldn't decide whether to wear our suits or change there. Wear your suits! There really isn't a place to change except the bathroom. The baths are large and can hold 4 people easily. You have a private room with a door and because there is no air circulation (we opened a window but it was hot out) the room is very warm. Between the warmth of the room and the temperature of the water we had to keep standing up and cooling down by splashing ourselves with cold water. They do give you a pitcher of water so make sure to drink while you are in the bath. You can also add more cold water to the bath by pulling the yellow handled lever up. We weren't sure when we got back to our cottage if the mineral bath was worth it, but then we ALL noticed how soft our feet and legs were. We all decided we would go back because we would know what to expect the next time. Outside you can sit along the stone walls and put your feet in the mineral waters. You can even sit in George Washington's mineral bath which makes a fun picture!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LeilaniESVA802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Springs State Park also viewed

Berkeley Springs, WV
 

Been to Berkeley Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing