We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the Waters” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berkeley Springs State Park

Berkeley Springs State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The park's natural spring is used for mineral baths and other therapeutic treatments.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take the Waters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

The park has the warm springs running through it. You can get spring water (bring containers). You can also get very reasonably priced whirlpool baths, roman bath and massage.
I tried the roman bath at $22. This is a private room with a tiled pool about 9 feet long and 3.5 feet wide. The pool is about 3.5 feet deep. The spring water is heated to 102 degrees. You get a towel and a pitcher of spring water. The pitcher of water is regrettably room temperature instead of ice water.
The floor in the room was covered with water. Bring shower shoes, The grout in the top tile and the feet of the plastic chair in the room had mold on them. A little chlorine bleach would take care of that.
It was great for someone who loves soaking in a hot bath.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank floppsie256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    150
    34
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Apex, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a small park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

but it's pretty and you can wade in the streams from the hot springs and talk to people, the springs are 72F year round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA (USA)
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“taking the waters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is a very small park, about six acres, but it can take your senses miles away. There is a centrally located gazebo, and the hot spring waters run through the grounds, lengthwise, with spa buildings located at both East and West ends.
The Roman baths by the "gentleman's spring" and museum are more rustic, but feel just great. The 74 degree natural spring water is heated to 102 degrees (you can add cold water, as desired), and is added to tub rooms for individuals or small groups. You pay a nominal fee for 1/2 hour of soaking in a tiled, step-down mini swimming pool. Ahhh.
The East end has a spa building with a sauna, massage areas for gents and ladies, whirlpool mineral tubs, and roman tubs with a tiled seat at the end of the "pool". Attendants are friendly, and David gave the best knotted muscle shoulder massage ever.
Don't forget to tip!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PESRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mental exhaustion pick me up”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am in nursing school, and am mentally fatigued! Well, a trip here to do the Roman bath and then a 30 minute massage always helps. The minerals just soak into you and the healing begins. I don't know if it helps me more to know that George Washington also took the waters, but being a big fan of his, I like to think that we share the same leisure activities:) The massage afterwards is a definite to do along w/ bath, the oils seal up the minerals that have been absorbed. I don't recommend to take a shower afterwards, you want as much to remain on your skin as possible. I am a Master Esthetician and highly recommend this treatment to people that can't seem to find the thing to do to treat certain ailments, but this will help with so many issues.My husband and I both go here. They do separate the men and women, but you finish at the same time and come out refreshed and ready to take on the next challenge of life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikki36_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Roman Bath nice to do as a couple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Roman Baths. It was a nice treat on a cold day. The water was hot and relaxing. We almost didn't last the whole 30 minutes. We would defiantly do it again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingtom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Springs State Park also viewed

 

Been to Berkeley Springs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing